In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Yoga, Business & Love

Leave a comment

Ommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Ommmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

It’s been a full week of yoga business this week!   To keep people informed, I put out an e-newsletter every now and then.  Sometimes more now than then, depending on what’s happening in the welllness aspect of our city.  There is so much more yoga in our town (as there is everywhere now) than there used to be, that I decided to promote all the studios, not just the ones that I teach at.  After all, we are all trying to achieve the same thing!  It’s been a great tool in bringing the yoga community together in our town.  I’ve met new people and actually gained some extra yoga gigs since I include everyone in my promotions in an unbiased way.  I like to teach a couple of special workshops a year, so I’m preparing for a psoas yoga workshop.  I’ve been bringing some of the info into the classroom on and off, it’s my way of preparing for something bigger.  I almost always try to teach with a theme of something or other.  It might be one particular muscle group, a focus on a body or mind blockage, etc.  I am also bringing one of my favorite teachers to town again this Fall.  I used to have to travel to St. Louis to enjoy his workshops.  He came to us last year and will do so again this year!  How exciting that was, to see these people, come out of the woodwork for a weekend of yoga and meditation!  I never intended to share my love of yoga, I just loved going to class and practicing on my own.  Somehow, I ended up in the front of the room and it now, feels very natural.  It takes a lot of work to keep the vibe alive.  A couple of years ago, I redesigned our studio web site.  I knew nothing about making web sites, but I feel it looks great!  In turn, a couple of friends asked me to make them a web site as well.  I spend a lot of time, making web site updates, writing and sending out e-newsletters and preparing to teach classes.  Lots of people are wanting to teach yoga, and I think that’s great.  At the same time, I feel they don’t know how much can be involved for how little you are compensated.  Do I have to do this web site and e-newsletter?  No, I don’t.  I do it because it keeps everyone aware, excited and hopefully wanting more.  I do it because I love yoga and if you are a yoga instructor, we are probably on the same page!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

