In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Back On Track

Leave a comment

I biked to all of my yoga classes this week, with the exception of this morning.  It really looked like rain yesterday at the noon hour, but I biked it anyways.  Saving my gas money and the evil parking permit that MSU charges for the use of their lot.  I’m there a whopping two hours a week, hate to pay.   It’s nice to ride over there.  I take the side streets.  I really take in the residential landscaping, I can smell who’s doing their laundry, and I am getting used to the fence that houses the big dogs!

Monday, my kids start school.  I love the summertime.  The kids can sleep late.  Things are lazy and more unorganized than the norm.  We stay outside until dark and eat dinner late.  But, I am ready to get back on track.  There’s something about a schedule and for me, it’s for more than just catching days.

Kids at the Nature Center Nov 2007

Kids at the Nature Center Nov 2007

Our son, will be a sophomore this year!  Hard to believe.  He’s a smart kid who spends all of his free time throwing the discus, either in our yard, or over at the school.  He’s not a social butterfly, he says he doesn’t have time for that.  He’s wanting to be in a Decathlon, and I am sure that he will be if he wants to.  Perhaps, we will see him in some field event at the Olympics someday!

Our daughter will be in the 5th grade this year.  She’s a bit nervous, as she’s starting a brand new school, WOLF School.  It’s an alternative school that’s conservation based.  They will spend 70% of their time in the field, outdoors in all kinds of weather.  I’m talking caving, fishing, canoeing, hiking.  Where was this school when I was a kid?  Their school room will be at Bass Pro (and it’s cool) and they will have the same curriculum as a regular elementary 5th grade. 

Both kids are gone to their other homes this weekend.  I will have time to get organized around here, do some serious cleaning and putting away of the “stuff”.  I’m looking forward to Fall, I always do, it’s my favorite time of year.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

