In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Butterflies Inside and Out

2 Comments

I have one more FREE Monday before I begin teaching a couple of yoga classes on Mondays starting after Labor Day.  I took advantage of the weather yesterday to really clean around here.  Lots of straightening up (though I still can’t find our dining room table top) cleaned rugs out on the driveway, went to Wal-Mart for groceries, no crowd there, every one has purchased their school supplies!  I also finished a book on the deck, which didn’t take me long.  While I was out there I noticed many different kinds of butterflies.  Monarchs, Swallowtails, you name it, they were out.  They love the herbs on our deck.  We even found a chrysalis awhile back on our deck when I was sweeping.  We are waiting it out, not sure what it’s going to be.
Butterfly Pavilion in Branson

Butterfly Pavilion in Branson

On the other hand, our daughter was full of butterflies last night.  At bed time, she couldn’t sleep, she was hot, we opened her window.  Not good enough, she wanted the a/c.  Please…it was like 60 last night.  Then around 12:30 a.m. the truth came out.  She was afraid of getting hurt at school today.  They had canoe safety yesterday and a nurse came to tell them about all the painful things that could happen when one is out in the woods.  They could step on big thorns, get stung by stuff (we don’t know if she’s allergic, she’s never been stung) they could get splinters, gashes, stitches and broken bones.  Geez.  She said nothing of this after school yesterday, only came home with shining, pure excitement from WOLF School

Today, they wore their bathing suits to school under their clothes.  We applied sun screen and bug spray.  We packed a lunch and the rest of the gear they are to leave at school, which included a rain slicker, a snorkel and mask and a bottle of travel peroxide (which freaked her out).  She seemed excited today, as they are traveling out to really sit in a canoe and learn more about safety.  On Friday, they actually go on the river.  She’s never been canoeing, but she’s spent lots of time at lakes, rivers and in our bass boat.  She’ll be fine.  Not sure I will be though, I am exhausted as I got very little sleep myself last night. 

Tonight, I start teaching in the evening again.  First night class I’ve had since I lost my great yoga gig with the City.  It will be nice to see that same crowd, they’re still there, and it’s a big group at the YMCA.  September is Yoga Month, so our studio will be passing out “free class cards” to those that have never been to a studio class.  Looking forward to sharing those this evening as well.  

Taken October 2006, these yoginis are still at the Y!

Taken October 2006, these yoginis are still at the Y! One has turned her love of yoga into sharing and teaches her own classes!

It’s a beautiful day again today.  I plan on relaxing, perhaps starting a new book since I just purchased three new ones.  One of which is A New Earth.  Decided to wait until the hoopla was over with to read it.  I glanced through it, and found it to be quite similar to the book I just finished reading by Easwaran.   The only decision I’m going to make today, is what book I should start reading, the dining room table can wait.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Butterflies Inside and Out

  1. Pingback:   Animals,Nature,Science,Uncategorized | On the trail of one of Britain’s rarest butterflies — Recycle Email

  2. Pingback: Butterfly Urns at Life in the Garden

Leave a Reply

