In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Passion Flower

Leave a comment

Passion Flower

Passion Flower

I purchased this vine last year at Lowe’s, it was half dead when I planted it in the summertime.  By September last year, this is what it looked like!  It literally had a ton of these flowers, so I researched it and it’s called a Passion Flower, native to the Southeastern US.  So, I really figured I’d enjoy it one season and that would be it.  I also learned that it’s flower, leaves and stem are often used as a sedative or sleep aid in homeopathic medicine. 

It’s a very large vine, like a Trumpet Vine or Morning Glory.  I found two aluminum scroll pieces that go on the front of screen doors and screwed them together and nailed them to a big tree so it could climb on something other than my hostas.  It’s since surpassed the handmade aluminum trellis and attached itself to the tree!  It’s also spread to other locations in my garden, I’m going to have to give some of it away!  Looking forward to it blooming sometime very soon, I have a feeling it’s going to be loaded.

What a beautiful fringey flower!  I love buying plants and having no idea what they will be!  I also have trouble with sleeping, falling asleep, staying asleep, that kind of stuff.  Perhaps I’ll go out tonight and munch on a few of these flowers, or make a tea.  How pretty would that flower be in a glass brewing pot?

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

