In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Labor Day

Leave a comment

Labor Day.  What else did we do?  Labor, that’s what!  A year and a half ago, in February to be exact, we tore out our original kitchen from 1954 when this house was built.  It’s a little kitchen and it’s a good thing.  We were able to afford the cabinets for it!  At first, I had a hard time getting used to it, my old place had like 30 feet of wrap around counter space a big dining table and a couch, a fireplace, a computer desk.  Heck who needed the rest of the house? 

I went to Lowe’s today.  I got the paint for the two tiny walls and some cheap composite trim.  Canoe.  Looks like melted Hershey’s chocolate in a can, I love it.  To make my day better, a good yoga friend called while I was in the car on the way there.  And then, as I was blazing out of the store, I saw another yogini and her boyfriend, studying hard at the design center.  I didn’t bother them, I know what that crap is like, you’re in pick it out and measure mode and you do not need any interruptions!

I painted, I taped, I sanded, I fixed plaster, I ate sheet rock dust (which is the worst mess ever, and it tastes pretty bad) and so on.  It’s painted and it looks great!  Our house, old as it is, has this clam shell trim that I really dislike.  I’ve burned a lot of it out back and replaced some, but I’d love to replace it all.  I tore it off the door frame from the laundry to the kitchen, and Frank put up the new, after I painted it of course!  

Tomorrow, I’m off to buy one of those bi-fold doors for the laundry/kitchen entrance.  There’s a regular door there, but it’s a hassle.  I close it every morning when I feed my 3 cats so the dog won’t eat all of their food.  I end up moving a lot of crap just so I can do this and it’s exhausting!  Our laundry area is a huge mess, that’s next on the list………….

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

