In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Stress of Yoga

1 Comment

I put out an e-newsletter, now and then, sometimes more now, for the yoga and wellness community in our town.  I promote all the studios, I contact them and see what’s happenin’.  September is National Yoga Month, so I definitely wanted to promote that, so a few days ago, I did. 

Think Global, Act Local

Think Global, Act Local

September is also the month we have the Global Yoga Mala.  We do 108 Sun Salutations for charity, usually 4 times a year and in September, a ton of people participate all over the world.  Since it’s a charity event, we have to find someone willing to let us use their space (a large space) for free.  This can be a challenge.  It was looking like (to me anyways) that we would have no Global Mala this year.  After all, yesterday was the 3rd of the month! 

And, yesterday we were offered a cool empty pool hall, but it had no bathrooms.  For 50 people and 3 hours, drinking water and sweating, we decided on no for that.  Another yogi, offered us his warehouse.  It had a bathroom.  We were set to take it when……..the Firehouse on Commercial was available only if we had the event in the morning.  Sold!  My friend secured the location, she called the drummer, then she called me.   I can spread the word. 

The Mala will be Sunday, September 21st at 10:00 a.m.  Charity fundraiser for Springfield Animal Advocacy Foundation (SAAF) and globally for Trees for the Future.  Suggested donation of $15 as always.  I’d better get this on Craig’s List, make some flyers and get them distributed around town!

I jammed on an e-newsletter last night.  I really hated to junk up email boxes since I’d just done one a few days prior, but it’s the best form of communication I’ve found.  There will be a loft walk on Commercial street that same day as well as Cider Days on Walnut, so lots will be happening midtown and downtown.

Whenever we have one of these, so many people I’ve never seen and do not know show up.  They just crawl out of the cracks!  I don’t know if it’s Beth chanting Sanskrit Mantras or Eric’s drumming, but the whole thing has such a positive energy about it.  People leave blown away, tell me how sore they were, and then they come back for more and ask me when the next Mala is!  Come join us, bring your mat.  Do 2 sun salutes or do all 108. 

Tip 1:  Take two advil before the event and have a glass of wine afterwards!  You will not be sore! 

Tip 2:  If you can’t take a yoga mala recovery class the day after, walk, ride your bike, but move!  And of course, listen to your body during the event!

It’s raining.  We do need it.  Our garden is cracked and dry.  We have 18 sweet potato plants and lots of tomatoes still to come!  I cannot ride to MSU, unless it quits raining by 11:30.  Hope it does, I do not want to spend my hard earned $2 for a day pass, on top of the hassle of buying it!

My daughter forgot her lunch money today……good thing Bass Pro is close!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “The Stress of Yoga

  1. The yoga newsletter is not considered junking up the mailbox. Stay dry!

Leave a Reply

