In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Chakra Yoga Sunday

Leave a comment

Every Sunday, I take a yoga class, just for me.  The first 30 minutes of the class are chanting, meditation and philosophy.  I love it, I do.  When I first came to yoga, I found the meditation part very difficult.  I was a “high energy” person and I really just wanted to “get on with the class.”  Sometimes, frankly, the meditation just – pissed me off.  I had a hard time sitting still, and I thought it was ridiculous, but I kept coming back for more!    

Now, I love to meditate.  I love the quiet, the stillness and sometimes the colors that I see.  I tend to get a dark blue circle, with gold around it so far.  Not asking, nor looking for anything.  It just shows up sometimes, and never stays for long.  I cannot meditate here at home very often.  Too much external stimulation.  I also have a harder time meditating all alone.  I find, when I’m with a group of people, large or small, I can sit there for a very, very long time.  Some days are easier than others.  Some days, I just feel like I’m getting situated, like I’m really getting started, and then, the bell brings us back.  This morning, was a great meditation day, we went 15 minutes and it flew by. 

We’ve been focusing on a different Chakra every Sunday.  Today was the throat.  We opened the asana class with a lot of Kriyas (actions) with different types of breath work, to open our throats.  We all know what it feels like to hold tension in that area.  I used to be a person who could probably go for an hour without swallowing (I’m not kidding) if something was bothering me.  Our mantram was, “Om Anandham Namha” translated from Sanskrit to, “my actions are free from attachment to the outcome.”  I like that one.  So, I let myself move through my practice today, without being too attached to it.  What I felt was gratitude, to the teacher, to the people in the class and to my body for allowing me to just “be there” this morning.  Yoga is cool like that. 

After class, I had coffee with another teacher who’s been playing with Tarot cards.  I’d never seen them, so she whipped them out and of course the reading began.  My past card was the Star.  My present card was the High Priestess.  My future card was the Lovers.  She had a little book and we checked their meanings out.  We drank our coffee, we laughed and felt thankful.  Even if our gratitude was only for tarot cards and coffee and the moment! 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

