In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Bicycle! Bicycle!

1 Comment

I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike……….So I will and I did yesterday to MSU.  Apparently, lots of other people are hopping on the band wagon bike scene as well.  It’s the first time, I’ve ever had some difficulty in finding a place to park it and lock it up!  The street we live on is kinda busy in the morning and after work.  There are a LOT more bikes on the road now, and I think that’s cool.  Bikes, mopeds, motorcycles, scooters and even skateboards.  I’ve seen everything but a Segway on the road so far.

A Scattering of Segways by Greg McElhatton

Today, is the Tour of Missouri.  We watched them blow through last year, but not sure we’ll get to this year.  My day is full and I work at 6:00.  I will ride to work this evening, and I hope I don’t pass any of those guys!  They might blow me off the road.  I don’t have a road bike.  I’ve got a really nice mountain bike.  It’s old, but awesome!  I can jump curbs, ride through grass, and go anyplace I need to go to avoid a collision!

My brother went to college at MU, he was into engineering.  He liked bikes better.  One time, while visiting him in Columbia, in 1992 or something, he convinced me to buy the bike I have now as the shop was going out of business.  All bikes were half off and all they had left were small bikes, for short people like me!  I bought the Jamis Eureka, it’s red, it has great shocks and I love it!

My brother didn’t become an engineer.  He moved to Boulder after graduation.  Since then, he’s managed University Bikes in Boulder, Performance Bikes in Denver and is now settled at Yakima as a sales rep.  He didn’t learn to ride a bike until he was 10.  I remember, because I came home from work one day (in my car) I was 16, he was 10.  All the kids were out riding bikes and I asked him what his deal was.  His deal was, he didn’t know how!  So, out we went.  He learned, I took pictures and have since framed them and passed them on to him!  He learned on my cool, sparkly-green, Schwinn with the banana seat and chopper back! 

If you’re driving to work today, watch out for bikes, they’re everywhere!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Bicycle! Bicycle!

  1. Dang girl, I always wanted the banana seat and chopper style…plus streamers. You must have been rich!

Leave a Reply

