In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Finding Focus

2 Comments

I am truly digging this weather!  Twas a tad bit cool on the ears Monday morning on the bike ride to work downtown, but I shall not complain!  Biked to both of my classes on Monday.  Lots of people are still locking up bikes at MSU.  Spaces are getting harder to find and I suppose that’s a good thing!  Frank got me a little, but very bright, flashing red light.  Since I rode to the Y last night to teach, I used it.  I stuck it on my backpack.  Ended up riding part way home with another girl who also had a little flashing red light.  I suppose we felt the power and safety of the duece! 

I decided to devote an entire week of classes to the drishti, which is the gazing or focal point in a yoga posture.  We found the focal points over the hand or fingers, straight ahead, or slightly upward.  I let them really take their time to let their eyes move with their body, instead of leading the pose with their eyes (which happens all too often).  We also turned our focus inward.  So during some of the postures, I had them close their eyes.  This way they could really receive the benefits instead of trying to achieve so much.  In a couple of balanced poses, I asked them to let their eyes and their minds, wander around the room.  It was interesting to see who lost it immediately and who didn’t.  Then we taked about why.  I do teach at the Y and at MSU twice a week, so I’ll have to come up with something new for today!

Mantra for the day – Do what’s important to do today, do not hurry to get things done, eat your lunch sitting down and smile!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Finding Focus

  1. Saw one of those flashers just recently on a jogger. Great idea! Pop a wheelie!

  2. Pingback: Tara’s Funeral and Cremation at Life in the Garden

Leave a Reply

