In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Spulenking the Ozarks

Leave a comment

Lauren (our daughter) loved the cave experience.  She even crawled through the mud tunnels, which I was mighty surprised.  They sent home instructions on how to wash cave mud off clothing.  So if you ever find yourself in need, here goes.  Wash the clothes in cold water 3 times.  On the fourth time, add the laundry detergent, hang them out to dry.  They look brand new.  Good deal, those Nike tennis shoes I got at the Salvation Army for a buck look better now, than when I brought them home.  Today they go to Ritter Springs Cave.  Lauren said it was a dry cave, but they may get into some water, with streams, but no mud.  Ok.  Sounds fun.  Friday, they take a trip to Close Park for tree observation.  She’s loving this school.

Jordan (our son) is really getting into Cross Country.  I’m hoping I will attempt to run with him when he runs here at home on his own.  I’m not a runner.  I have knock knees and a strong inward rotation at the hips.  Basically, I have crooked legs and wore funky shoes as a child and there was some talk of a placing a bar between my knees when I slept.  That didn’t happen.  My mom’s whole family has this inward hip spiral, sometimes it truly sucks.  Anyways, running generally hurts my body, so we’ll see if I can overcome that.  He missed the first two meets since he decided to join late, but another week or so and he’ll be a traveling runner.  He was also a little apprehensive as all the meets are on the weekends.  That’s his time with his mother.  We meet her in Buffalo every Friday night and Sunday afternoon.  She lives at Lake of the Ozarks.  But we had a chat.  I reminded him he’s only in high school once and that he’s a damn good runner and his mother owns a car.  Evil stepmom revealed.

Both kids are doing great in school as they take on these extra activities.  We are so proud of them both.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

