In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Spontaneous Entertaining

Leave a comment

I’m exhausted.  Maybe it’s from riding my bike to work four days in a row.  Maybe it’s from trying to dig a hole out of this clutter.  Maybe it’s from cleaning non-stop yesterday due to last minute company showing up!  I think number three did me in.  Our house is not large.  In fact, I think it’s the smallest home I’ve ever lived in.  Not a lot of closets, only one bathroom, one living space and a one car garage!  I like to be crafty, and my husband likes to “fix” things (electronics of all sorts, mowers, you name it).  This stuff takes space and sometimes, it really stresses me out.  More so, when I have last minute notice of “by the way, we’re having company for a cookout tonight!”

So, I cleaned and I cleaned.  Some things, just don’t look clean.  The hardwood in our front room has yet to be refinished, so it’s dull and pretty much lifeless.  We tore out our kitchen linoleum so we are down to the original flooring from 1954.  It’s the color of diarrhea decorated with paint and spackling.  One person actually thought it was stained concrete!  Bless…..that…..person!  We live in our house, and I do not mean that lightly!  It was a chore.  I got it clean.  It needed to be done.  Today I’m looking around here, actually glad we had company (as much as I wasn’t looking forward to it).

The visitors were friends of my husband, from KC.  They have a new baby, a little over a month old.  I was thankful, even though the house was clean that the baby wasn’t crawling.  I can’t picture a toddler in this place!  Danger, danger lurking everywhere.  We grilled pork chops and I wilted some baby spinach.  They’d never had it, and I could tell, they were hesitant to try it.  But they did, and they liked it.  I wilted it in a little bit of ghee, with some Indian spices and cummin seeds.  It went well with the pork. 

Today was more entertaining.  We (the girls) did lunch and hit a flea market where I scored a cute little wine rack that will hold three bottles.  I have a super cool one that my dad made me out of horse shoes, but it’s large.  I really need to find a place for it, as it’s special to me!  After I got home, I was exhausted and couldn’t get motivated.  Slight problem when you’re entering a craft fair in Ozark the first weekend in October!  I just couldn’t focus and all I ended up doing, was carding some of my hair barrettes.  My sister, on the other hand is blazing.  She’s having to ship all her stuff here ahead of time.  There’s a West Elm store in her town.  They sell these bags of pods, unscented mind you, for $20.  Happens to be, she has a tree loaded with these in her backyard.  Score on the pods.  Bagged and ready to go, don’t they look good?

Tonight is Saturday night, and a beautiful one at that.  My husband will be at his workplace until closing or later.  The freaks come out on days like this.  Someone actually tried to run him over with their scooter today.  That’s just one incident.  I don’t know how he does it.  He’s into helping people and keeping them safe.  I guess I should be thankful that someone does that job, as I sit here blogging away!

Tomorrow is the Global Yoga Mala at 10:00 a.m.  This is the first time I’ve felt like skipping out.  I always bring the flowers for the event and today I hit Wal-Mart for cheap flowers.  I made a neat arrangement of white Mums, light yellow Carnations and orange Gerbera Daisies.  Lovely and therapeutic if I might add.  As of now, leading 27 sun salutes sounds absolutely atrocious.   I’m sure when I walk in the door of the Firehouse, my mood will lift.  The drums will be beating, people will be hugging and the vibe will be all around be good.  Nothing like a mala for renewal.  After all, tomorrow’s a brand new day!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

