In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Global Yoga Mala Musings

Leave a comment

The Global Yoga Mala was awesome!  It’s part of International Peace Weekend and studios all over the world participate in some sort of, well, peaceful activity.  Meditation, yoga or something, for charity.  We held our event in an old Firehouse with the windows wide open.  The building backs up to the railroad tracks and now and then, a train would chug by.  It added a nice effect to the event.  The weather was really nice and the light filtered in softly.  The morning time slot was also a hit with everybody!  We had a decent turnout, probably close to 50 and raised a tad over $500 (before our event expenses) which weren’t that much.  Our collections went to Trees for the Future and SAAF – Springfield Animal Advocacy Foundation, no kill, animal rescue and shelter here in the burg.

I actually hung out and laid low.  I didn’t lead any sun salutes this time.  I didn’t talk on the microphone thru the warm up or the cool down!  What I did do was this; a bunch of sun salutations and shot a gazillion photos and some video!  Beth and Abbe did some harmony together for the last two rounds and it changed the energy.  It was really, really nice.  You can check them out below if you want.

I had positive energy the entire rest of the day.  I spent it out back, picking up walnuts.  It’s my sideline this time of year.  I’ve been known to haul in 1,100 pounds, we’ll see what happens this year!  The best thing you can do after the mala, is move!  I tidied up the deck, repotted plants, filled birdfeeders, stuff like that.  All good stuff!  I was not excited about the mala event yesterday, if you checked out my post.  That changed of course.  I love the Mala and look forward to it, as we try to do it four times a year.  I’ve never missed one and I probably never will (unless I’m sick, or dead). 

There is a lot of work for me to do after the event which is as follows:  I have to add a new Mala page to the website.  Then I have to edit, and drag the photos, one at a time, onto that new mala page.  Then I upload the video to youtube and insert their links on our site.  After that, I make up an e-newsletter to let everyone know how much $$ we raised, that the pictures are up on the site, and that the videos can be viewed. 

I know.  You’re thinking, big deal eh?  It takes time.  I get in a groove and can do it somewhat quickly.  Once I get started, I don’t want to stop.  So, last night, I stopped at midnight.  Today, I finished the site details and published them.  Then I made the e-newsletter and clicked to send.  All of this before I left to teach a class that started at 9:30 this morning (I got up at 5:45 a.m.) it’s all good.  I love doing it and now tomorrow, I can chill and work on my craft stuff, knowing I do not teach until 6:00 p.m.  Mala photos below, enjoy!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

