In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Into the Night

Leave a comment

I’m a light sleeper.  Always have been and it’s looking like, I always will be.  I hear e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g.  If my son gets up to get a drink of water, I always ask him about it the next day.  He laughs and thinks I definitely have some sort of medical problem that makes me sleep so light.  Maybe I do, who knows.  I can’t remember the last night, I slept uninterrupted, and it’s wearing on me.

I was really beat yesterday.  Mala sunk in.  I rode my bike to instruct two yoga classes and was finished by 1:00 p.m.  After that, it was straighten up around here time, hit the grocery store, pick one kid up, then wait for the other kid to call and pick him up.  Make dinner, laundry, etc.  Last night at 10:15 p.m. – I fell asleep watching the news.  Unheard of.  I don’t just fall asleep, maybe because I don’t let myself.  I have things to do.  And, sleeping in the front room?  No way.  I’ve never slept on a sofa and I don’t believe I’ve ever even reclined on ours!  So, I got up and went to bed.  My husband has to watch TV in the bedroom, which I despise.  But I guess he can’t sleep without it.  He’s constantly bombarded with external stimulation at his job, and honestly, I don’t think he can function without a bunch of noise.  I’m the other way.  I need total darkness and quiet to sleep.  Which might explain my insomnia problem.  I rarely have total darkness and quiet to sleep!

Around 12:30 a.m. I heard people talking, as I often do.  Our street is a thoroughfare and it’s in business all hours of the night.  More so now, since the college kids are back.  But sometimes, you score stuff; a couple full cans of beer on your driveway, an inner tube to use at the lake, etc.!  My husband was already in the kitchen, having a snack (something he does late night, I don’t do that, I’ve brushed my teeth for heaven’s sake!) and he was watching the “talkers”.  There were three.  One guy in a small, white pick up truck and two guys on the sidewalk on either side of the street.  Looks fishy to me.  The walking guys, ran, jumped into the back of the truck, laid down and sped off.  OK.  What in the world did they just steal was the question.  I go back to bed.  I mean, what can we do?  Nothing’s missing.  My husband stays up and watches……and watches.  Then, he can’t stand it.  He takes off in his truck looking for them, into the night.

About three years ago, on a Saturday in October at about 11:00 a.m., I was in the backyard picking up walnuts.  It was a gorgeous day.  I left for five minutes to pick up my daughter.  When I got in my van, I noticed someone had been in it.  Uh oh.  Had to run, get my kid.  I’ll deal with this when I get back home, right?  We dealt with it all right.  Back at home in the backyard, we found my sunglasses, my phone charger, a bunch of CDs, stuff strewn everyplace.  The shed was left open (as it often was back then) so they hit that too.  Our mini motorcycle was gone (we’d just painted it bright yellow, it was like a 1978, not a mini bike, but a little motorcycle, it was cool) the metal detector, a TON of tools.  I was HOME geez and we have a yapping dog!  How could this have happened in five minutes while I ran up the street?  Did they do it while I was way down back gathering walnuts?  We’ll never know.  All that stuff’s still missing, so if you see any of it, call me.

Above explains his paranoia.  It’s the same time of year and though most everything is locked down, locked up or chained to trees, you can’t help but think if someone really wants something, they’ll find a way to get it!  He didn’t find them.  He thinks they’ll be back.  That they were just checking stuff out, stalking, seeing how easy or hard it would be.  Maybe our house, the one next door, the ones across the street?  He’s probably right.  It’s his intuition and this is what he does at his job after all.

That’s it.  We’re putting up a big sign that says, Beware! This place is protected by giant Orb Weavers, their shadows and their webs!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

