In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

What’s Your Dosha?

Leave a comment

Before I started my yoga class yesterday at MSU, a student was asking me some questions on Ayurvedics.  It’s not something I know a ton about, but I know some.  I find this holistic Science of Life very interesting and I have and do use some of the remedies from time to time.  You can really dive into this pretty deep.  A fun thing to explore is finding what your three mind/body principles are; that’s called finding your Dosha.  A neat quiz to take can be found here on the Chopra website.  This site is filled with a ton of cool stuff and a great place to start if you’re interested in mindy/body awareness.  I’m a Vatta/Pitta (pretty balanced most of the time) my husband is a Kapha all the way.  It’s interesting, check it out.  You can also search here on wordpress for some cool dosha info as well.

One of my favorites ayurvedic remedies, is the Neti Pot.  As a child I suffered with allergies, bronchitis and asthma.  I had allergy shots, a special diet, inhalers and other drugs.  Yuck.  As an adult, I outgrew the asthma, but was still bothered with allergies and sinusitis.  Through yoga, I learned to breathe in and out, through my nose instead of my mouth and I learned to breathe better.  I also discovered the neti pot and find it very beneficial.  Especially so during the winter months, air conditioning months and when I’ve been working outdoors.  It cleanses the nasal passages and leaves the membranes feeling clean, fresh and lubricated.  I no longer suffer from much upper respiratory problems and I am thankful, to my neti pot and to my yoga.  I can’t remember the last time I was prescribed antibiotics!

Tonight was a fun class I lead at the YMCA.  Great crowd, been around forever.  I introduced them to Thomas Fortel, by using his CD in class this evening.  They loved it!  For many of them, it’s the only opportunity they will have to hear his voice, as several cannot make the workshop this coming weekend.  After the class, we chanted.  We are tucked way back into the basement corner at the Y.  Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t do any chanting.  I’m afraid it might freak people out that are passing by in the hall.

Since my company has left, I also made it back to my favorite class this last Sunday!  What a great class that was.  Really focused on strong, standing poses and balance.  Felt good, even though my right foot has been bothering me.  I need to have it x-rayed, but I’m putting it off.  I don’t want to know.  I have a strong inner rotation at both hips and my right foot, turns in greatly.  I can turn my ankle with ease and look at the bottom of my foot!  I also deal with a fallen arch on that side as well.  Being barefoot most of the day, doesn’t help.  So when I’m not at yoga, I wear my Earth athletic shoes.  They tilt your heel back and feel great! 

Breathe, walk and sleep well.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

