In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Velocity of a Walnut

1 Comment

* Good news.  Sold the walnuts, we had 455 pounds for a whopping $54.  Bad news.  After the storm, there are twice as many on the ground and I’m tied up the entire weekend with yoga!

*If a walnut falls from 200 feet and hits you in the head, at what rate is it traveling?  This happened to me the other day.  I’ve done walnuts for a few years now, never been hit.  First time for everything.  Smacked hard, top, left, front side of my head.  I had blurry vision for a short time, sat down, got some ice.  I consider myself lucky!

*Stayin’ busy with the hobbies.  Frank and Lauren are into making candles.  I burn large pillar candles on a tray and Lauren saves the wax.  They melted it down and filled several jars, some with layered scents and colors.  They also filled votive holders and we now have some really cool votive candles!

*My child wants to quit orchestra?  Why?  Because it’s hard, the teacher is mean, she doesn’t want to practice and the kids who aren’t in orchestra get to do art.  She refused to take the viola out of the car on Tuesday for class.  I think she’s rested her case.  I’ll let her quit.

*I let my child forget to bring her “about me” bag to school today.  It’s like show and tell about yourself.  Never mind that this was hanging on the fridge and written on two calendars in our house!  Sometimes, when I do stuff like this, I feel like the worst parent ever. 

*Do not watch shows like “John and Kate Plus 8” or “The Duggers” or you will feel like the worst parent ever.  How they do it, is beyond me!

*Busy preparing for this yoga workshop.   There’s been some added stress (studio drama), some family drama (not here in this house but in Florida) cross country practice not at a close vicinity, a talent show/chili supper and then tonight, a WOLF school meeting.  So as the final workshop details are coming together, I’m falling apart.

*My throat is terribly scratchy and I sniffled my way through my class today. 

Mantra for the day – Must not get sick, must not get sick, must get sick

 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “The Velocity of a Walnut

  1. Hang in there baby! Stay strong, you can fall apart later. The walnut blow to the head may have been a sign.

Leave a Reply

