In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Post Halloween Gore

1 Comment

Halloween was pretty uneventful.  We walked into the beautiful night and loaded up on candy with a good friend and neighbor.  We’re trying hard to stay connected to my daughter’s previous elementary school.  We’re still in the district, but over at the WOLF school, so everyone is making an extra effort to include her in school functions and play together.  It’s really neat.

This is her second year of dressing up in the scary phase.  When she was washing off all that make up at midnight last night, she made the decision of no more scary!  Please ignore any Halloween wreck behind her.  We did the decorating on Thursday evening!  Didn’t have time this year, first year ever to really NOT get cool with it.  We basically threw it on top of the entertainment center, what a mess.  I feel like this would make a great page for one of those “I Spy” books, ya think?  Also, doesn’t everyone keep a small cooler a box full of chalk and a whiffle bat in this location?  I no longer live in a “magazine shoot ready” home and sometimes I do grieve over it, but it’s OK! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 Lauren and her good buddy Madie, who was dressed as a diva!  No red eye correction here! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Across the globe, my niece, who just visited and who will turn 4 next week, strutted the Halloween path in a handmade costume.  She was wearing a Williams Design, by my sister, the fashionista, the interior designer, seamstress and creative soul.  She was Little Miss Sunshine.  No, not the movie.  But yes, the 70’s cartoon character.  It’s the Mister Men Show people, where have you been?  I didn’t know either, but she’s adorable, in or out of costume!  Just out picking flowers on Halloween she was…….and downing M & M’s!

After trick or treating, we did enjoy some cocktails (the mom’s in case there’s any question).  Conversation quickly turned to politics.  Way to ruine my birthday.  There was ranting and raving and some fist pounding on the table.  It’s not that I don’t like talking about political stuff, I’m just tired of it.  As I’ve said before, it’s exhausting to me.  I don’t keep up with it like some.  I’m not quick and smart about it, and I don’t have views I feel the need to share.  What kept me in check was this.  Just knowing the other people in the room were just like me.  I’m not separate from them.  I did a LOT of listening.  I don’t like the arguments that come into play when the “you’re not like me” starts to happen.  It’s too bad.  I drank more wine, I nodded my head and smiled.  Freedom of speech.  Glad we have it……sometimes……!  Just kidding.  Good-bye intense evening, hello mellow Saturday!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Post Halloween Gore

  1. Forgot you are a Halloween baby! Happy belated birthday, punkin!

    They’ve pointed the speakers at JFK in your direction for tonight’s rally.

Leave a Reply

