In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Almost Famous

Leave a comment

Tonight was a rarity.  I watched TV.  Normally, the family runs the set and I’m busy doing “my stuff.”  I don’t have any weekly shows that I must watch, and I’m actually pretty thankful.  But tonight, I watched My Name is Earl.  I’ve always liked Jason Lee, and it is a funny show.  They usually play good music throughout the show as well and tonight, I was reminded of the movie Almost Famous.  Not only because Jason Lee is Earl, but because of the soundtrack tonight. 

Once upon a time, I owned a video store.  It’s a long story, that I won’t get in to.   When Almost Famous first came to the theater, I actually paid money to see it.  Something one does not do when one OWNS a video store.  I not only paid once, but I paid twice.  It pretty much goes down with one of my favorite movies of all time.  Period.  I love Cameron Crowe, I do.  When the movie came out on DVD, we were oh so excited at our store.  The promo stuff was awesome.  We got special posters, prints, soundtracks, t-shirts, you name it.  I kept a bunch of it, cause it was cool.  I also purchased (on ebay) a HUGE canvas banner, (the size of a single car garage), for our store window of Kate Hudson in the classic sunglasses.  This banner also hung in my huge 3-car garage after the hoopla. 

Almost Famous by steviebreech.

When the day came to close the biz, I kissed it and lots of other memorabilia good bye.  After all, how much crap can you keep?  The most important things I kept, were my special edition DVD and my soundtrack of Almost Famous.  I still have some small promo items as well in the way of prints, some are signed.

I think I’m going to stay up late and watch it tonight, it’s been awhile!  The bus scene, was one of my favs.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

