In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Where’s My Kitchen? Part 2

Leave a comment

100_3052 

It’s all happening, sort of!  The tile, is going up on the backsplash for the kitchen remodel that we started in February 2007.  Patience my friend.  It’s tattooed on my back as a reminder that one must not get in a hurry!  Hit a couple of snags, as usual.  Can’t call it a “true project” without some not so smooth sailing.  I’d purchased some neat little creamy glass tiles, to insert you know, here and there.  Total pain in the ass.  Decided against that, too time consuming.  And the fit wasn’t quite right and it looks great without them!  I thought we’d trim the window with them instead.  Also, instead of wrapping the tile on the corners, I’m going to paint the wall.  Just tile the back wall only and be different! 

Here’s where the smooth sailing comes in.  This tile, flushes up to the edge of the window frame with a finished edge, perfectly, no cuts, no buts!  The glass tile is out!  Oh, but it will be used.  I have a couple of mosaic projects in mind for it, and, I got the glass stuff for $20 so it’s not a big deal. 

Hope to finish the opposite wall this evening.  This tile is heavy, and reminds me of stoneware.  It was hard to nip it when needed.  Even when scored, I had a hard time with it.  Of course, that’s why I have Frank!  I can’t believe how straight he got these tiles, inserting them one at a time!  We got a great deal, on discount, since these were loose.  Just kidding.  They were on a 12×12″ sheet.  We’re not that cheap, or that crazy!  In stock at Lowe’s if you’re interested and not expensive!  Thanks honey, you rock!  Can’t wait to finish the opposite wall, I love it!

100_3057

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

