In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Yoga of Family

Leave a comment

I didn’t go to my usual Sunday class this morning.  I am spent.  Busy day yesterday that included a three hour class with a master teacher from Chicago.  The entire class was all based on the shoulders.  One of my tightest areas indeed.  I’m still feeling the class today and the stuff we did involved no weight bearing, except a downward facing dog or two!  Most of it was new, or old stuff I’d forgotten, so that’s a good thing.  It will be put to very, very good use! 

Sharing yoga is unique concept.  And every now and then, I’ll get a call to go off site someplace.  For instance this Saturday, there’s a brunch for the women physicians of St. John’s.  It’s a pamper yourself theme.  I’m heading over and doing a couple hours of restorative yoga for them.  I really enjoy gigs like this.  The people you meet, and the places you get to go.  Just being in that moment, helping people reconnect with their bodies and opening them up to relax in new ways.

Speaking of places.  I had lunch after yoga class the other day with a friend and her husband.  We were talking about yoga adventures and how awesome it would be to just take off for three months and teach in Costa Rica, take some classes in India or do some volunteer work abroad.  Of course, with no obligations or responsibilities, it would be plain cool is what it would be.  I don’t have a trust fund and I have a family.  Her husband told me this story.  Here goes………..

There was once a Sadhu (saint) visiting a family.  The family, was curious of the life of the Sadhu and vice versa.  The Sadhu was instructed by the devine to go outside, into the cold, windy night with a lit candle.  He was to walk around the house three times and keep the flame from burning out.  After three times around, he came back inside the house.  He was excited, the candle was still burning.  “You did well”, complimented the devine.  “But did you remember to call my name?”  “Of course not,” said the Sadhu, “I was too busy trying to keep the flame alive!”

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

