In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Glorious Glensheen

3 Comments

My mom and my dad are both from Duluth, Minnesota.  We still have a ton of relatives there, so I’ve been there a bunch of times.  The latest was just two years ago.  Duluth is a pretty town, on Lake Superior.  It’s up high on a hill and the water views are really pretty.  It’s also really cold.  I remember going down by the water one time in July, the wind was blowing and I was wishing I had ear muffs!  

Duluth is also home to a stately mansion, or castle I should say.  I’ve been there several times over the years.  I remember the first time I went there.  I thought that the home of the caretaker (on the left) was fabulous, and I still do!  I also thought I could live happily ever after in the carriage house (on the right)!  Then, you see the entire house!  It was built in 1908 and I’m not sure of the square footage, but let’s just say it’s gargantuous!glensheen-21

This house is owned by the University of Minnesota and has been open for tours for quite some time.  Some bad stuff went down at Glensheen in 1977.  Bad stuff meaning a couple of murders.  No one will talk about any of the “bad stuff” on the tour.  Certain floors have always been closed for viewing.  The grounds are lovely featuring massive gardens, a small river and what was once an extremely awesome boathouse for the day.  A book has been written about the killings at Glensheen

glensheen-13

 

My mom finished the book on her trip here and just handed it to me.  I’m supposed to send it to my grandma (who lives in Duluth) when I’m done.  Oh, the pressure of having to finish a book.  This is why I cannot use the library!  Rumor has it, the tour guides are starting to include more details of the secret stuff when you visit.  Guess I’ll find out next time I go to Duluth.  If you’re interested in what my mom said is a great murder/mystery, the book is called Will to Murder.

I just finished another really good book,  Not Fade Away.  True story.  Sometimes, the hardback books you can find at Deals for $1 are totally worth it!  I have an obsession with death.  Not so much with murder mysteries, but with dying in a graceful fashion.  That’s an entire day’s worth of blogging, for another time!

P.S. If you like cold blooded murder stories, I just finished one of those as well.  Check out Tragedy in Tin Can Holler.  Yikes!  Chilling, totally.  For the record, I’m still reading Into the Wild and A New Earth as well.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “Glorious Glensheen

  1. Yeah, the hired help shack will suit me fine. The long winters….not so much.

    That place is beautiful. I’ll check out the story on it, sounds intriguing.

    What do you think about Into the Wild and New Earth?

  2. Into the Wild is good, I just got sidetracked with my new dollar store purchase, Not Fade Away, and set it down.

    New Earth is, eh, OK. A bit new agey. I’d read a book by Eknath Easwaran over the summer, that was similar in a much better way. I will finish it though. It’s not a “sit down” and read a bunch of it kind of book. Read pieces and parts if you get it.

  3. I have New Earth and have been “reading” it for months, I think I’m done. I agree with your assessment.

Leave a Reply

