In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Downward Spiral of Festive

2 Comments

Our day was quiet, just family, no running, just staying at home.  We celebrated the holiday with the in-laws on Monday evening.  Today was just the four of us, opening gifts and hanging out.  Super nice way to spend the day.  We baked a ham and all the goodies to go with it.  No over do though.  Simple.  We didn’t even do a dessert.  There were enough cookies and goodies around, that we passed on that!  We did invite the in-laws over for dinner.  My dad (who lives in K.C.) also stopped by this evening for a little while.  He made us a beautiful, large, bird feeder.  I will be posting photos of it! 

The kids made a haul.  Lauren got a Nintendo DS and Jordan got an iPod Touch.  Gifts from my parents.  Lucky kids they are and what cool technology!  I hadn’t held either one of those items, so it was all new to me as well.  I’m not really a gadget/gizmo person.  My cell phone doesn’t even have a camera on it and I just got a laptop this year!  I gave Frank some cool tools and I got:

faux-fur-bootsI’d seen these in the Sierra Trading Post catalog and then, someone came into yoga class wearing them.  Same brand, Sorel.  It was all over then.  I checked them out (but I didn’t try them on) during relaxation.  Shhh….I usually dig through people’s purses too…….just kidding.  We ordered them online from Sierra and they were on sale, $74.  They fit, they’re so comfy and I can get them wet, unlike my snuggly Ugg boots that I love!  I like stuff that I can wear barefoot, easy to and from yoga classes!  For all of those who are wondering, YES, the fur is fake!! 

 

omega-8003

 

We also got this.  An Omega 8003 juice extractor!  I’m excited.  We got this used (like 3 times so they say) on e-bay for less than 1/2 the price of a new one!  It’s still in the box and looks totally brand new!

 

Now it’s back to stuff as normal.  Frank will be doing the Mall thing early, it will be worse than Black Friday.  I’ll be teaching a yoga class in the morning (I am so ready to get back on schedule) and the kids will sleep in I’m sure.  Speaking of yoga, I’m blogging while I’m waiting on the Yoga Community group e-newsletter to go out!  I have to do the reminder…..the New Year’s Day Yoga Mala  2009.  We do 108 sun salutes to live drumming and Sanskrit chanting for charity and it’s really cool.  This year, we’re collecting food to replenish the food pantry after the holidays.  I think I’m helping in the chanting department this year, so it will be powerful, good fun!  It’s always an exciting event and we have a great turnout!  This year, we’re holding our event in the sanctuary of UU (Unitarian Universalist Church) it will be nice.  PA system already there, windows, carpet, small kitchen…….

The newsletter takes awhile.  There are roughly about 650 on our list.  I do it in small groups and probably won’t finish it tonight.  Doing stuff from home rocks.  After I hit send on the next big group, I can wash my face and head to bed and just let it roll. 

Hope your holiday was filled with family, fun, food and joy!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Downward Spiral of Festive

  1. Merry Christmas from snowy Duluth! Your new boots look like they’d perfect for the wether up here. It sounds like you had a wonderful holiday. We spent the day with your Grandma here at our house. Bart even got her to play a little Guitar Hero with him!

    Jeanne

    • Wow! Hope you guys had a wonderful holiday as well. No chance of wearing those new boots today, it’s 58, but it’s wet outside. Kind of weird, creepy, Spring-like weather for this time of year. We’ll probably either get a tornado or a sleet storm tonight! Thanks for the Christmas picture as always, tell All we said hello!

Leave a Reply

