In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Day After, the Day After

Leave a comment

The days between Christmas and New Year’s are some of my favorites.  Even though we didn’t have a stressful, crazy holiday this year, I’m always ready for the day after Christmas.  The relief, it’s over, the quiet excitement that takes place.  Decorations come down.  A little more organization happens (I hope) as out with some old stuff and in with some new stuff.  The kids are out of school, days start to get a little longer and I enjoy hanging out with the kids and their new stuff.

Our son, got a driving permit.  Whoa.  How and when did that happen?  When I moved in with Frank and Jordan, he was in the fifth grade, Lauren was starting Kindergarten.  He doesn’t even look like the same kid, not at all.  He’s tall, athletic and has a good head on his shoulders.  I took him driving yesterday.  We started in the cemetery by our house, he did great, so we took to the neighborhood park nearby.  Since I didn’t have to work today, he wanted to venture out and get a protector cover for his new iPod  Touch.   It was 60 and storming like mad today.  I woke up with a killer headache (temperature change I’m sure) took some drugs, and went back to bed for two hours!  I have to make myself do that, to nap and I should do it more often! 

I woke up feeling like a million bucks, it was just drizzling so we headed out.  First stop, sporting goods shop to get him fitted for his letter jacket.  It was a surprise, his birthday is the first week of March.  We got fitted, I paid the deposit ($259 total – YIKES) we dropped off all the patches he’s already accumulated and headed to Target.  They were out of all skins for all electronics, go figure.  But, we scored some xmas candy for 50% off, candy that we did not need by the way.   We were starving (caused by looking at all that candy) so we stopped in Culver’s for some lunch.  Then, Best Buy.  That place on the other hand, was insane as always and by now it was pouring rain.  We were able to park close enough to not get soaked (I’m really not an umbrella person) and got skins for the iPod and Nintendo DS screens.  He also spent some time on the electronic drum sets.  He’s an amazing drummer and goes around drumming on everything and some days, it totally drives me crazy!  If we ever have drums in our home (god help us) they will be electronic, headphones and all. 

100_3090

Since it’s rained all day, the water is up and the catfish will supposedly be biting, so he ran down to the creek behind our home to dig worms.  He’s now out fishing with grandpa.  Temps have dropped a little, but not too much.  Not too many chances to fish in December, that’s for sure. 

We had a great day.  He’s a great kid and funny too.  We try to do things with both kids one on one every so often.  I think that’s important in a blended family, in any family for sure.  Sometimes it feels too much like “me and Lauren” and “Jordan and Frank” so we take extra time out, like today.   Frank  has taken Lauren fishing several times without me.  She caught her first fish with him.  She even shot her first gun, a little .22 with him.   As a matter of fact, her school has been to the shooting range several times and she’s one of 5 kids that won’t do guns or archery.  But, she’ll shoot with Frank.  Since the guys do like to shoot for sport, they also reload their own ammunition.  Lauren loves to be out in the garage with Frank doing that.  She’s learned to reload and can do it very quickly, it’s amazing to watch her.  I’m not into it, but I do like to watch Frank melt the metal and pour the bullets sometimes.  That’s OK.  If we were all into the same stuff, it would be mighty boring around here! 

*Note – Loveseat is slated to be out of here (SOON) so I can get my new, but gently used, furniture out of storage.  $50 (or best offer) if you’re interested.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

