In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Yoga of Moving Forward and Letting Go

Leave a comment

Today, I made it to Sunday yoga.  I even made it to the 8:30 meditation, barely.  I started my car, but forgot to turn on the defrost, so scraping was in serious order.  I do not like to enter the yoga room two minutes prior to class.  Heck, I don’t even like to enter the yoga room five minutes prior to class!  But it was OK, I made it and I needed it.

pdrm6910

Today was a special day.  One of my favorite local teachers (Beth) is opening a Yoga Education and Training Center (here in town) and I’m excited for her!  I’m also excited to help teach some of the training workshops as well.  Today was her last Sunday morning at our studio downtown.  We had a large crowd of fourteen.  Some of the regulars were not there this morning, so it had potential to have been a much larger class. 

Beth is a chanter and a good one.  So we opened up class with the 12 mantras for Surya Namaskar.  This was joyful and energetic and prepared some of us (including yours truly) for chanting on New Year’s Day at the Yoga Mala for charity.  We did a variety of sun salutations and I always dig the Jivamukti style salutes that she sometimes throws in.  The locking of the thumbs always makes me feel as though I’m in water.  Something that I truly love, being the avid swimmer that I once was!  And still am, when I get the chance, I’m just not on a team!

In celebration of moving forward to 2009, we focused on forward bends and some back bends.  Soft back bends, nothing too explosive.  She mentioned the back bending as a way of leaving stuff behind, because we all know if we don’t leave stuff behind, it’s hard to move (bend) forward.  So true.  I tend to carry around a lot of totally energy draining and useless information from my past at times, so I totally appreciated this class, on this very day!  Thankfully for yoga, I’ve been able to let go of a LOT of stuff that I’ve carried with me.  Even some of the stuff that I wanted to keep, but didn’t need to!

I will miss Beth’s Sunday class at our little studio.  She offered her teaching position to me.  It’s a great gig, good crowd, decent money, nice time slot.  But, I like attending the class on Sunday mornings, not teaching it.  As much as I could always use the money, I turned it down.   My friend Amanda, that took her first yoga class with me at the YMCA will be leading it.  I’m excited for her to have a studio class!  Beth will continue to teach on Sunday mornings at her new place and I’m sure I’ll drop in.  I will also be there to support Amanda, as a new studio teacher.  It’s nice to have cheerleaders (in a silent energy yoga code kind of way) in the room!

I left the yoga room today feeling much better about 2009.  Not that I was feeling necessarily bad about 2009 when I arrived, but………..yoga’s cool like that!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

