In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Happy January 1, 2009

Leave a comment

We stayed in as we usually do on New Year’s Eve.  Hubby ended up working late, to be expected, all hell usually breaks loose about the time he’s supposed to leave, and it was also a holiday.  Nothing new.  We ordered some pizzas, downed some cokes, had one brandy and watched a movie.  Pretty boring stuff.

This is the first year in a long time that my sister wasn’t here for New Year’s!  It was kinda weird.

Today is the New Year Yoga Mala.  All afternoon.  I’m excited and I’m also glad Lauren will be attending as well.  There will be other children there and she asked if she could run the camera!  Awesome.  I love it when kids take photos, you never know what you’re gonna get. 

I’m helping in the chanting department this time, so hopefully that will go well.  I love to chant.  In the dark, when the students are in relaxation!!  I’ll be fine, I won’t be up there all alone.  I’m thinking we’re going to have a HUGE turnout.  We aren’t asking for a cash, charity donation this time, just non-perishable food for the food pantry.  There will be live drumming with the chanting, so it’s extra special.  Looking forward to this afternoon!2008-94

 2008 Yoga Mala

This will be the third time we’ve marked the New Year in this way.  We don’t have to do much advertising anymore, it’s just expected that we have it and I think that’s just plain cool.  We’re using the Unitarian Universalist Church this year, should be nice with big windows facing South!

After the Mala for me, (and work for Frank) we will spend the evening with some friends we don’t get to see very often.

More Mala details tomorrow!

Om mi try ya – na mah ha……..om rah vay ya – na mah ha………om sur yah yay – na mah ha…….phonetic chanting, great way to learn! 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

