In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Littlest Pet Shop Fiasco

4 Comments

Our daughter is about to turn 11, tween central.  She’s still into toys, mainly Littlest Pet Shops and Barbies.  Over the break, she wanted to blow her holiday loot (of course) on something I refused to get her for Christmas.  That would be the Littlest Pet Shop Fitness Center.  

fintess-center2Never mind we already have around 5 buildings for the 250 + pets she already has!  I will say they are cute, they are inexpensive and they do not take up much space.  This Fitness Center was a must have for it came with a kangaroo wearing boxing gloves and a guinea pig.  They suck you in with these special edition pets. 

The cost for this piece of painted plastic?  $47.97, not kidding.  We got it home New Year’s Eve day.  She got it out of the box herself, it took about an hour.  One of the doors, was missing the little pegs in order for it to swing.  Major disappointment.  On top of that, it was much lighter in weight than some of the other smaller buildings she already owned.  It cost $47.97, we’re taking it back. 

Out we went, the same day/evening to return it.  They let us open the new one, to make sure the door would attach and we brought it home.  Again, one hour to get it out of the box.  This time, the spinner that allowed the pets to leap over the hurdles, would skip and not turn.  Also, it featured pegs, instead of magnets so the only pets that could use this fitness center piece of crap, were the two pets that came with it! 

How would our other 250 pets be able to work out?  lps2 

 

For those of you that are LPS uninformed, all the pets have magnets in their feet.   All of their building also have magnets, so everyone can join the party.  This was a horror to discover no magnets!  Were they now making pets without magnets?  Pets with holes in their bums to fit a peg?  I did what any person would do at this time of grief.  I phoned a friend, my sister.  Wow.  She’d bought the same Fitness Center for her daughter and it has magnets! 

I informed Lauren we would be taking this back on Friday, January 2 as I had the Mala on New Year’s Day.  She was not a happy camper, but she survived.  Friday came.  We drove to the store, got our cash back and this time, she decided to spend $10 on a Littlest Pet Shop (stuffed animal) V.I.P.  which is like a Webkinz. 

vip1

 

You get online with your animal, build a room and enjoy Pet Shopville on the computer.  She chose the turtle, she had $40 left, she was happy and so was I.  Needless to say, when we arrived home she headed to the computer and discovered that SOMEONE had TORN the tag offf with the CODE that you NEED in order to get online!!!!  I on the other hand, by now, was more than ready to ban all LPS toys from our home by placing them in our burn barrel and breathing in the toxic smoke! 

Within an hour, we were having lunch at a Chinese buffet, laughing about it on the way to the return counter once again.  I left the kids in the car (15, 14 and 10) while I stood in line for 20 minutes to get the $10 back on Friday, January 2 while the stores were still packed with holiday spenders.  Since I had all these kids with me, we headed to UU Church to pick up 303 lbs. of food that we collected at the Mala and delivered it to Ozarks Food Harvest. 

Early evening, I took Lauren out again, in search of that thing she needed to spend her bucks on.  We left one store empty handed.  The shelves were bare, people had spent their gift cards and she didn’t buy something just to be buying.  I was proud of her.  We then stopped at Toys R Us (my idea) on the way home.  She browsed for an hour, I was about to drop dead. 

She decided on a Barbie Disco Cruise Ship/Airplane combination.  “Look mom, it’s the last one, marked down from $74.99 to $39.99, that’s good isn’t it?”  It was the size of the LPS Fitness Center, but weighed a ton more.  Thank you Mattel for quality! 

barbie-combo

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

4 thoughts on “Littlest Pet Shop Fiasco

  1. Oh my, such a drama over those little pets! You are such a patient mom….this post cracked me up, and I’d like to come over and play disco ship.

    • I left off the part, after the V.I.P. incident. I flew off with a cussing fit and I think I said the “f” word to the Pet Shops and the big box retailer, not once, but twice in front of the three kids that were here that day! It wasn’t all pretty patience, that’s for sure!

  2. ok, now the truth comes out…in the form of an f-bomb. Sounds more realistic.

  3. We’re overflowing with LPS here too, but Madelyn plays with them more than any of her other toys so I don’t feel too bad about the excess. Now I’ll be wary of the Fitness Center…

Leave a Reply

