In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Teach to Inspire

Leave a comment

It was a relief to see the kids return to school.  I was scheduled to lead a class of three hours yesterday and I needed some time without kids to plan.  The class was at the new Yoga and Education Training Centerlingams in our town.  My good friend and teacher, has a very dedicated group working on their RYT (Registered Yoga Teacher) certification.  I of course, was flattered that she asked me to be a part of the training.  I’m scheduled for one Saturday a month, for three months for three hour workshops.  Cool.

Her theme for this month was Leela, which basically translates to playfulness and fun!  The workshop I headed up yesterday at her place, was fun.  It was on teaching yoga to children, of all ages.  I don’t have any experience with teaching a yoga class to children with physical disabilities, but I have taught a few to kids with mental, or behavior oriented disorders.  What a challenge with a big reward.

When I have to teach a workshop, I like to plan, plan and plan some more.  I like to spend lots of time planning and organizing and preparing.  This week, it just didn’t work out that way.  Though the kids were in school there were other demands.  A yearbook planning meeting at WOLF School, kids coming over to play and a breakfast meeting at the YMCA yesterday morning.  I had in my head what I wanted to do, I just needed it on paper.  I got my handouts on the computer and printed them out.  Some day, I will put all the Sanskrit words in my spell check!  How annoying to have every other word you type show up as a typo. 

I always worry if I will run short, that I won’t have enough information for the duration.  Low and behold that never happens.  I can usually go on for hours, and for that, I am thankful, except I almost forgot to take a break yesterday!  I was able to teach this class without too much stressful planning.  I offered what I knew very well with confidence.  I feel thankful, to be at a place where it feels so natural to share what I know.

I chose not to bring kids to the training class.  #1 they would’ve been a distraction #2 that would’ve been a good idea, as they would have total true experience of a kids yoga class #3 focusing on teaching to kids while being distracted…..not such a good idea.  We played with asana for about an hour, bringing in animal sounds and creative names for poses.  We sang a few Native American Indian songs, we counted to 10 in Sanskrit and named some different body parts in Sanskrit as well.  We looked through the books that I brought in.  I passed around my Lingams (pictured above) as a touch and feel philosophical part of the training.

The new center is beautiful.  I haven’t even been able to squeeze a class in over there for myself yet!   Though yesterday went very well and was well received, I was exhausted.  I slept in this morning, taking care of myself in a restful way.  I know that the exhaustion I was experiencing was in a positive light and that it too soon, will pass.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

