In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

What’s the Difference Between 0 and 9?

3 Comments

I say the wind, that’s what!  It was 9 degrees this morning.  It’s supposed to be 0 tomorrow morning.  I wonder if 30 below feels different than 0?  It probably does, especially if the wind is blowing!  Luckily enough for us, there is no wind today.  I arrived at the studio extra early this morning in order to crank up the 4 space heaters we use as supplemental heat.  It tends to get a bit drafty this time of year as we’re located in the lower level (ok, the basement) of the building.  It seems, a lot of other places offer yoga in their basements as well.  At the YMCA, I’m in the basement.  When I was at the City, we were in the basement.  Our basement has no windows, it’s nice because it gets good and dark for relaxation.  But windows can be nice in basements, if they’re in the form of glass blocks.  Anyways, people actually showed for class at 9 this morning!  Nice to move, get warm and rest with loads of blankets!

Our daughter, is on a field trip today with her school.  They headed out to Springfield Lake for Eagle Days.  Let the eagle watching begin!  I wonder how they’re doing?  The high is supposed to be 15.  She wore long underwear, fleece lined wind pants, wool socks and a pair of my old Ugg boots.  On top, she had on three shirts, a hoodie, a coat, a hat, and gloves.  I’m hoping she was able to turn her head if the eagles weren’t sited dead on!  She had her camera and binoculars.  Do eagles really fly in this type of weather?  I don’t know.  I’d be staying hunkered down in my nest!

Our son will have track practice, as he does, 3-days a week after school today indoors of course during this kind of weather!  We’re heading out to an indoor track meet this weekend in Joplin.  It’s his first indoor meet.  These meets require an entry fee and are not school sponsored, so you have to get yourself there.  There are no discus events (his main thing) because the place isn’t large enough but he’s going to run in two events instead.  There will be lots of coaches there from different places, so I suppose scouting will be in order.  He’s excited on trying for an athletic scholarship and frankly, so are we!  He just purchased his first vehicle last weekend, I can’t believe it.  He had saved almost $1,500 and spent $900 of it on an older model Dodge Dakota pick up, long bed, with a camper shell.  He did pretty good, it needs some seat covers and minimal carbeurator work (hello Frank) and that’s about it.  It will be nice that he will be able to drive home from practice.  Right now, I have to wait until he calls and could be anywhere from 4-5:30.  He has a driving permit now and will be able to get his license in April.  You now have to hold your permit for 6 months first.  Not like it used to be.  I tried for my license on my 16th birthday, like every one else did!  He’s been busy splitting wood to sell as he can’t really squeeze a job in with sports.  Hopefully though, this summer will bring work at a clock in type of location. 

I’m thinking it’s a pot roast in the dutch oven kind of day!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “What’s the Difference Between 0 and 9?

  1. There’s a HUGE difference between 0 and -30! Believe me, you learn that well here in Duluth. Schools were closed today because of the extreme cold. Actual temps were -20 this morning, and the windchill brought it to more like -50. Madelyn stayed with your Grandma for the day because I couldn’t get out of work, and Bart’s in Michigan all week.

  2. Pingback: What Should You GoSee? » Blog Archive » What’S the Difference Between 0 and 9? « in the Middle

Leave a Reply

