In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Energy of 11 Year Olds

2 Comments

 

lauren-wolf-school-1-15-09

Lauren will be 11 on January 28th, to be exact. 

Last year for her birthday, I went temporarily insane and let her have 7 girls spend the night.  We don’t have a huge place, no basement, one living area, 3 bedrooms and an office.  We had kids camped out in her bedroom and some on the front room floor.  It was wild  (putting it mildly) and I will never, ever do that again!  So of course this year, she wanted to have another sleep over.  No way.  In lieu of that, we had one of her best friends from her home elementary school spend the night last night.  It’s amazing, how well they play and how quiet they were, until ELEVEN at night!  What’s with that?  So until around 1:30 a.m. we had quiet shrieks, giggles and footsteps up and down the hall.  Exhausting.  I’m old.  Word to those who don’t have kids yet.  Do it when you’re in your twenties.

The weekend after next, she will have one girl from WOLF School spend the night.  Then we’ll have a few girls from her home school, over for lunch and cake.  Growing up, we always had birthday parties.  It seems now, people just don’t do it.  I’ve talked to so many parents who just give me a weird look when you say “birthday party” I don’t know why.  Maybe it’s old school and not cool anymore.  Maybe kids just stay home with their parents and have dinner or something, I don’t really know.  We’ve even asked kids to come “gift free” or make a donation to the Humane Society ’cause we sure don’t need anymore crap around here.  Don’t get me wrong.  Kids always come to the birthday party when we have one, it’s just that not many other kids have one theirsevles.  I’m thinking next year, we won’t have a party, but will do something as she is getting older.  Like have a friend spend the night, go to the movies,  or go to the pottery place and make some cool stuff.

So I guess the question is, what’s up with the birthday party banning?  Anyone?

 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “The Energy of 11 Year Olds

  1. Remember the sleepover at my house for my 10th birthday? I have pictures of you! I remember my mom coming in, probably in the wee hours of the morning, and telling us we HAD to go to sleep! I remember my birthday parties as being a lot of fun and a major part of my childhood. Since I have a summer birthday, I remember being sad that I couldn’t celebrate it at school. Birthday parties should not be banned at any age!

  2. Growing up, I had one birthday party, I was probably 10 or 11. Usually, we had family over for dinner and Mom would fix our favorite meal and birthday cake. But I never ever had a bunking party!

    When my son was younger there was a period where he went to a birthday party every weekend for a few years. The parties were always off-site, bowling, skating, swimming or something. Are families too busy now for birthdays? Or too broke?

Leave a Reply

