In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Wishing

1 Comment

moms-backyardThis is my mom’s backyard right now in Florida.  They’re all the time sending me pics like this, rubbing it in about how they’re freezing and it’s down to 60 degrees.  Give…..me……a……break!  Of course I love seeing these photos that they send.  I love flowers, gardening and spring time.  Which got me thinking about my new and cool spring time stuff.

 

 

 birdfeeder-and-jacksonFirst up, is this huge awesome bird feeder built by my dad (biological dad) who lives in the K.C. area now.  He makes these to sell as a hobby.  They had already reserved a space at the craft fair in Ozark this past October (my stepmom does beautiful floral work and I’m certain she made that green bow out of ribbon) and planned to peddle these bird feeders and her arrangements.  Anyways, they got sick and didn’t get to the show!  We lucked out and were given a bird feeder for the holidays.  It’s made of cedar and they sell for around $70 if you’re interested.  It’s a big bird feeder and I would like to put it out front, so I can see it through our huge picture window.  Jackson (the white cat) is pretty excited about it too!  I can just see him now, chirping at the birds and trying to jump through the window!! 

  

recycled-birdfeeder1Craft fairs have their share of crap, but when we did the one in Ozark (our first experience ever) I got a chance to leave our space and browse.  I love pottery, and there was lots of it!  I don’t necessarily dig country quilts, I cannot sew, but I have great appreciation for those who can, my sister included.  I ran across this tent with these sunflower things.  What in the heck is that?  It’s a bird feeder, it cost $16, and it’s made out of the side wall of a tire.  I watched the guy and his wife make these.  They took a tire, they had several side walls ready to go.  He would then scallop the edges with some sort of saw.  Some were flowers with pointed edges, some were rounded, some were larger, and some were smaller.  After that, they whipped out the spray paint, mostly using yellow, the underside is painted all green.  Then they spray-stenciled a little ladybug on the edge.  Next up was the soft screen center that they stapled in with a staple gun.  Then they hooked a chain on all three sides and brought it together in the middle with one of those heavy duty, plastic, no-slip ties.  Amazing!  What you see on mine, is the pulp from three apples and two pears after the kids juiced this morning.  Squirrels and birds, love it alike!

 gnomesI love garden ornaments and sculptures.  My favorite set of gnomes, was purchased at a garage sale.  Four gnomes, a mushroom and a snail to be exact, all made out of ceramic for $10.  They’re getting chipped, I didn’t even bother to bring them in this winter like I usually do.  Before Christmas, I was at Hobby Lobby gathering some stuff for the craft fair this year.  Almost everything in the store was 50% off.  Even the holiday stuff, it was wild.  Of course, I always get sucked into the garden decor, it was 1/2 off as well.  I got these two guys (made of resin) and this mushroom with bits of glass pressed into it, as it’s made of heavy ceramic.  Can’t wait to plant some stuff, but I guess I’ll have to be patient.  Just like I have been, while I wait for our big front porch/deck to appear, so I can landscape the front of the house!!

In time.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Wishing

  1. Cool bird feeder. As I’m getting older, for some reason I’ve developed an affection for the elves and pixies and like to rescue them.

Leave a Reply

