In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Twilight

Leave a comment

mossy-treesMy daughter is so fortunate to attend this alternative school which allows her to do and see so many things!  Awhile back, a guy that has a cool store downtown came to talk to them about fair trade and all that good stuff.  Today, they took a little jaunt downtown to his store, Global Fayre, so they could see the shop, make some purchases and learn more about fair trade.  It’s full of stuff made by artisans from all over the world.  I sent her with $7  and of course, a few kids didn’t bring any money.  She ended up sharing her cash (which is OK with me) but that also meant that she found what she wanted to buy after she gave her loot away.  The lessons of a 10 year old, learned the hard way. 

I’d promised her I’d take her to see the movie Twilight after school today, and the cool worldly store was right by the theater.  What she wanted was only $6.  It was a neat little guy made completely of heavy wire, wrapped with ribbon (Kenyan style) peddling a bike, whose legs actually peddle and wheels actually move when you roll him with the long push handle.  It was cute, it was colorful and she was way happy. 

Twilight was good.  I’m not into vampire films.  But I do remember when Lost Boys came out and I thought it was the coolest thing.   Edward, the main vampire has an Edward Scissorhands way about him.  Kind of creepy, but sexy and mysterious in a no one can get close to me kind of way.  The cinematography was nice and I enjoyed the scenery, as well as the awesome house that the vampires lived in!  Of course it was somewhat predictable but I got attached to Bella and could relate to the way she isolated herself at her new school.  It also had very little gore, and only one violent scene where Lauren did cover her eyes momentarily.  It was PG-13 in case you were wondering.

In yogaland, things will start to sizzle next week when I start teaching 10 classes per week!  MSU requested another class and it turns out, the people wanting it work close to the studio.  Since there are no classes during the time they’re in need, they’re coming over (all 19 of them) instead of me teaching off site at their workplace.  I’m really digging my schedule now.  I’ll be teaching every day at 9:00 a.m. and every day at noon (except on Fridays) and I’m only teaching one night a week.  That would be on Tuesdays (my three class day) so that’s awesome. 

Yesterday was also a slow day for yoga.  Most everyone was in front of their sets watching the Obama action.  I actually had no one show for class yesterday morning and I was kind of glad.  I wanted to check it out as well.  And I did get home in time to see most all of it.  I will say, that was the most TV I’ve watched in quite a long time.  Of course by last night, everybody was sick of it and made it to class!  We offered our practice to the celebration of change and not necessarily in a political way, it was in whatever way you interpreted it.  For without change, nothing would ever bloom or grow, and no one would ever blossom to become the person that they’re meant to be.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

