In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Hamstrung

Leave a comment

Yesterday, January 24th was Yoga Day USA.  A nationally celebrated day set aside just for yoga!  A few years ago I put together a little stint at the Y.  I brought snacks, handouts and books.  The Y offered free yoga for a few hours and we had a really good turnout, which was surprising since the weather was unusually warm that year.  Three news stations showed up as well (must’ve been a slow news day) and when the third one arrived, I declined an interview.  Enough was enough, they were stealing  my zen!  My intention yesterday morning was to attend another Yoga Day USA celebration but I was also registered for a 3-hour Hamstring Health Yoga class that afternoon as well, so I skipped the party.  One of our local health clubs also had a special Yoga Flow class yesterday morning too and I’ve heard rumors that it was crowded, rock on!

The hamstring class was really, really good.  It was at Teach to Inspire, the new yoga and education training center.  Three solid hours of anatomy, some light partner work, good use of props and awesome stretching.  I don’t have tight hamstrings, I’ve always been able to just bend forward and touch my toes.  But not everyone can and little things like that keep people away from yoga.  Hello.  Please come to yoga if you cannot touch your toes.  It doesn’t make one bit of difference to us what you can or cannot touch.  But if it’s important to you, maybe we can help you get there in a safe way.  I will say that my legs felt very spacious (in a good way) the rest of the evening and it was great to come back to the little things, cues, ideas and instruction that we sometimes forget about once we establish a teaching rut. 

This morning, I made it to Sunday morning yoga class.  I returned to the studio downtown to take from a good friend, who took over for the person that left to start the training school.  She taught a great class as well.  She has one master teacher she loves and travels frequently to study with, so she whipped out some new ideas and also gave me a few great adjustments.  My body feels great!  It’s exactly what I needed as I start teaching 10 classes per week starting tomorrow!

After class, another yogini asked me to go the Moxie and see Slumdog Millionaire.  What a great movie!  What a great theater that was packed by the way.  They’re obviously rockin’ the house with the Oscar oriented films.  I remember those oscarmania days at the video store.  I’m not so much into it anymore.  I spent a LOT of time in that whole film snob realm and it’s nice to be away from it and exist in a world that’s not so, well, full of film.

My husband knows nothing of the pop culture thing.  In fact, that’s one of the qualities that attracted me to him.  For instance.  Last night, he stayed up to watch Saturday Night Live.  I didn’t.  So this morning I asked him who was the host.  He said (not kidding), “Weird Al Malkovich” and he was totally serious.  Nevermind that I own (and we have watched) the movie Being John Malkovich on VHS special edition, complete with nesting head dolls.  The guy is clueless and that’s of course, one of the things I love about him!

Anyways, go see Slumdog Millionaire.  It’s totally worth the trip out in the cold.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

