In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

A Full Week of Yoga

3 Comments

kirstenboundangleI’m excited for this week!  This is the week we will not have ice and snow and classes will not be canceled.  This is the week I can start my new class for MSU downtown, since it was canceled last week due to weather.  I will have 10 classes a week now, with a wonderful schedule of 9:00 to 1:00 every day (with the exception of mornings only on Fridays) and only one evening class per week.  Perfect when you have kids in school, out in time to pick them up!

Last Tuesday night, I didn’t teach at the Y, classes were canceled.  But none the less I heard some yogis showed up, those that were close enough to walk over.  Turns out, someone that’s interested in teaching took over and led the class!  I love to see that happen.  I’d just loaned him a bunch of great books and hooked him up with some resources so I’m glad he jumped in.

We really worked our legs today in some strong standing postures.  Lots of us had been inactive last week due to the weather, so I cranked up the heat with warrior I and II.  Instead of flowing today, we took longer holds.  We used our heels, pressing against the wall, felt the power of the legs, the stretching of the upper body and the firing of the hamstrings.  Needless to say, internal dialogue became not so internal with moans and groans coming to the surface.  I will say my legs are feeling it, even from the little that I did when I wasn’t walking and talking.  I’m sure that trekking up and down 38 stairs (twice) carrying a backpack and yoga mat had nothing to do with it all after walking a mile from a parking lot.  I shall not complain as I love what I do.

Today was also the beginning of a new month and I realized I had not sent out an e-newsletter to the yoga community since the New Year’s Day Mala.  February is heart month, so I did a quick search for info, made up something pink and pretty with plugs for the workshops at Teach to Inspire and hit send.  I’m doing a Freeing of the Shoulder Girdle this Saturday from 3:00-6:00.  I need to whip out my anatomy books, brush up on what moves what in what position and make some great handouts.  I love these classes and I’m always afraid I won’t have enough material, but low and behold, I can usually go on for hours.

Today was also a day where I would find out if an article I submitted for a yoga book would be chosen or not.  There were to be 25 articles picked from out of a couple hundred or so.   My article was not chosen, but I am really excited to see the ones that were.  This was the first time I’d submitted something that I’ve written.  I’ve never really considered myself a writer, but I do enjoy it very much so I’m sure I’ll try again at another time.

Speaking of writing, I need to check on my child and make sure she has those thank you notes written for her party gifts!  It’s getting close to bed time, hers and mine.

“Wake up and realize, you are surrounded my amazing friends” – not sure who said it, but I like it!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “A Full Week of Yoga

  1. The newsletter? Very informative, really good stuff. Keep submitting the articles.

  2. Nice posting. Do you know about these yoga books?

    http://www.YogaVidya.com/hyp.html

Leave a Reply

