In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Webkinz Sock Clothes

2 Comments

100_3365We’re a crafty bunch around here.  Someone is always fixing something, or making something out of nothing and our daughter is no exception!  The other night, while pondering over her 15 or so Webkinz, she decided that they needed some clothes.  She bolted to her room and came back with a bunch of colored socks that she could no longer wear.  I know, bad mom for not cleaning out the sock drawer.  Gone are the days when I spent cleaning out closets and making everything look beautiful.  Come on over, I’ll prove it to you.  Anyhow, she started chopping up socks (here at my computer desk, the art table of choice that evening) and really made some cool stuff.  100_3357

 

 

 

 

 

 100_33672

 

 

Using a scissors only and some magic markers, she hooked her Webkinz up with some rad sweaters and hats!  How cool is that?  Cool I say.  It’s not costing me any blasted trips to the toy aisle, she’s happy and we’re cleaning out the sock drawer.  Until she decided she wanted to use a needle and thread because, “they needed book bags, a quilt, booties and scarves.”  Oh boy. 

I can sew on buttons, I can do simple repair jobs and I used to do a ton of embroirdery and cross stitch.  But this was serious stuff.  A quilt?  Out of socks?  OK. 

She had it all planned out, she’ll cut out the scrap socks and sew them together.  I showed her how to stitch them together, not beautifully, but basically.  She was ecstatic!  She used the ends of socks to wrap around their feet and sewed on a button for adorable booties.  She sewed handles on the book bags.  She decorated the sweaters and book bags with sharpies as her way of snazzing up the older socks.  100_3363 100_33661How innovative she is!

Tonight, I subbed a class to come home and find that she’d been on the Webkinz craft site.  There she found an idea for a Webkinz cupid.  There goes my white card stock for wings, a white pipe cleaner for the halo and another pipe cleaner and paper heart for the arrow.  Adorable.

But…….you should see my desk right now, like I said earlier, it’s the art spot of choice!100_3368

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Webkinz Sock Clothes

  1. How cool! You are to commended for raising such an imaginative and resourceful daughter – and what a great example of recycling too.

Leave a Reply

