In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Feeling Spacious

Leave a comment

I am feeling rather broad.  My whole body feels spacious.  I suppose a lot of people wouldn’t think that to be a good thing.  Who wants to feel huge?  I guess it’s all in how you look at it.  Today, for three hours I enjoyed a Pranayama Workshop at Teach to Inspire.  Amazing.  I love the pranayama practice.  In fact, the pranayama CD I own by Thomas Fortel is one of my favorites.  But face it.  I only have so much time alone to really do that, so class settings like today, are a must!

Abbe is a great teacher.  She did a beautiful job of guiding us through different variations with added visualization.  Who could sit and breathe for three hours you ask?  Me.  And 14 other people. 

I had been really sick the week before last.  I had subs for 3 of my classes, but that still left me to choke through 7.  After that, my eyelids flared up with some weird crud.  Burning, itching, swelling and watering.  I know.  Sounds like a yeast infection.  Headed to the eye glass place at Wal-Mart where they got me right in.  The doctor slipped some orange eye drops in my eyes and responded with a big, “Hell yes you have a bacterial infection of the eye membrane”!  Fabulous.  Where did I get this?  Who knows.  Eye make-up, a yoga mat, a shopping cart handle?  We’ll never know, and I’m feeling good about that.  I have drops (burning drops) to put in my eyes 4x day for 7 days.  Oh joy.  Today was the first day I was able to wear mascara, and I did, to the pranayama class!

We started the class today on our backs resting on fan folded blankets.  New way to fold for me and I won’t forget it.  I used two under my back and one for a small pillow.  We worked on keeping our chest expanded as we exhaled.  Something I love.  I think I love it as it’s easy for me to tap into.  Probably from all of those years of swimming, competitively on a team!  I immediately felt better after the first 15 minutes of this practice.  Simply amazing!  We moved onto other forms of breath work, mostly working with 5-elements (leaving out fire) as our afternoon was moving in a very calming direction.   I was not in the mood to take in a “skull shining breath” so I’m glad she left out the fire part!  I really enoyed the water element, the feeling of the back body becoming a bathtub of breath.  I guess being a Scorpio and all I suppose the water element is in me.

I highly suggest a class or a practice of this nature when you are able.  I knew my breath was not where it was supposed to be due to sickness, stress and other factors.  It’s so nice to take the time out of the day to check back in.  I almost didn’t go of course.  I’m like everyone else.  I have so much to do.  My house is dirty, the sink is full of tupperware needing to be washed and there’s always laundry around here!  Tomorrow is also the 16th birthday party for our son.  It was extremely warm out today and yard work was tempting. 

But no. 

I went to a 3-hour pranayama class and for that, I am thankful.

Everything will still be dirty tomorrow, or the next day.  And who really cares?

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

