In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Small Setbacks

1 Comment

On Monday my husband decided to go to the doctor and get an x-ray.   He’d been dealing with a twisted ankle for a week now, so I guess he thought it was time to get it checked out!  It was twisted all right.  He’d turned it enough that there was actually a small break.  They’re unsure if this is a new or old injury, but he came home with a brace and crutches for seven days.  He has one foot that turns out extremely.  In fact, his leg turns out from the knee down.  He’s all the time walking through the house kicking stuff, but he can’t help it.   He’s healing up, it’s a good thing.

On Tuesday, the trainers from the MSU athletic depatment called me at 3:15.  Jordan (our son) had twisted his ankle during warm ups at track and needed me to come and get him.  I got there quickly, and his ankle on the outisde area, was huge!  He’d sprained it in January and we didn’t go to the doctor at that time.  I’m thinking we should have and I’m still feeling bad about that now!  We headed to Urgent Care where they got us in pretty fast.  His x-ray showed a serious sprain to the front of the ankle.  He was so happy to not have a broken bone.  They’d just made him track captain.  Track and field will most likely be his ticket to college.  They sent us home with a brace and crutches for seven days.  He’s receiving physical therapy at track practice every day and it’s helping immensely!  It was warm that day, high 70’s.  When we left Urgent Care, it was blowing sideways rain and the temps were in the 40’s.  We were freezing as I was in yoga wear and he had on shorts and a tank top!  I was lucky to be able to get ahold of someone to teach my class as we were in route to the doctor.  Crazy ankles.

My eyes.  Another story.  I returned to the eye doctor on Wednesday because they still felt gritty.  I no longer had a bacterial infection, but am now dealing with an allergic reaction to whatever got in my eyes.  I have prescription eye drops for allergies and I purchased something called Eye Brite today as well.  My eyes feel much better except the right eye is fuzzy.  The letters on this screen are fuzzy, it’s  fuzzy when I read and it doesn’t matter if it’s something far away or close up.  The left eye is fine.  I’m sure once this stuff is full out, I’ll have better vision.  I hope.  If not, I’ll be finding an eye doctor that takes our insurance and getting that checked out!

Luckily, Lauren is fine.  No broken bones, no eye trauma.  Just a serious fall off a bicycle and a tummy ache this morning. 

It’s times like these that I really feel grateful.  I’m glad my eye is fuzzy and that I’m not blind.  I’m glad my husband and son can use crutches and ice and advil and that they still have all of their limbs.  I also feel that sometimes when stuff is out of balance in my life, I teach my best yoga class.  Why is that ?  Guess I’ll never know and just continue to feel thankful for the things that are going in the right direction.

Have a great weekend.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Small Setbacks

  1. Wishing you all a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

