In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Truly Amazing Friends

1 Comment

100_3499Some days, you really do wake up and realize you are surrounded by amazing friends!  That happened to me this weekend.  My friend Michelle, gave me two bottles of Pinot Noir.  Not just any old Pinot Noir, but Pinot Noir she had made herself!  I met Michelle I don’t know, four or five years ago when she came to my yoga class.  In fact, her entire family attended my Family Yoga Class for quite some time and they’re all awesome!

I made myself wait to open it, almost a week!  Saturday, I taught a three hour workshop on the Psoas Muscle and I was more than ready to relax.  My husband was working out of town and my kids were gone.  It was time to pop the cork.  This was and is (I have one more bottle) some of the best wine I’ve ever had.  Really smooth, hints of grapes and beautiful color.  Though she told me it was cloudy (sulfite free) I didn’t really notice it and I didn’t really care. 

She needs to open her own winery!!  

I arrived home Sunday evening after another three hours of yoga.  This time to my family and chaos.  I’d been at the Spring Equinox Yoga Mala where we did 108 sun salutes for charity.  Shortly after walking in the door, I poured myself another small glass of that great wine.  My friend Sylvia called and wanted to drop by.  She had a surprise for me.  I met Sylvia when our kids started Kindergarten.  Her daughter Emily and my daughter Lauren are very good friends.  Sylvia is an artist and a damn good one!  Her signature is to cover her pieces in this tiny little iridescent glitter.  Her work is whimsical with lots of animals, faeries, glitter, gardens and what nots.  I love her stuff!  She made me something for my kitchen.  A sock monkey character she’s named Dr. Woo Hoo. 

100_3497Dr. Woo Hoo is a pretty cool dude.  He’s an adventurer and this time he ventured into my kitchen cooking up a storm.  This is adorable!  She brought this to me framed with a nail taped to the back so we could hang it immediately.  I had to include a couple photos of the detail work, it’s amazing.  She did this with colored pencils and crayons.  Can’t say if I used colored pencils and crayons that I could make something like this.  The frame is gorgeous, and the orange carrots and the blue colors just bounce off my chocolate kitchen walls.

 

 100_35052

I poured her a glass of Michelle’s Pinot Noir, then I broke out a  package of sheep’s cheese and some crackers.  We admired her work and enjoyed the wine.  What awesome people I know!  Thank You!

100_35043

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Truly Amazing Friends

  1. Glad you enjoyed the wine! I hope to make lots more for people to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

