In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Spring Equinox Yoga Mala News

Leave a comment

tower-471Yoga for a cause.  That’s how I spent my Sunday afternoon along with 60 or so other people!  Together we raised $500 for the Alzheimer’s Chapter of Southwest Missouri.  We had an exceptional view for this Mala as we held our event in the Tower Club, 270 feet high above the city.  We had originally planned on using one of the smaller dining rooms, but nope, we didn’t fit so we moved on into the main dining area.  It was really nice to be in this space, wearing what I like to call my “day pajamas.” 

Eric our drummer, is the manager of the Tower Club so that’s how we ended up with the space.  Beth chanted and for the last two rounds Abbe joined her.  I opted out on chanting this time and led a round of 27 sun salutations instead.  I had a nice girl contact me that was looking to enter her photographs in the fair and wanted to shoot a unique event!  That was super nice!  I shot some pictures but she was able to shoot the entire time.  She left me two discs at the YMCA, a total of around 500 photos. 

As usual, I didn’t know a bunch of people that showed up.  We had around 60.  There were at least 12 or 15 that were away for Spring Break, so I think we faired pretty well.  Next Mala will be in June, for the Summer Solstice.  Come do some sun salutes, or just sit and chant.

tower-12

We closed the event with 108 OMs.  We’d like to think that we lowered the crime rate in our city that afternoon!

You can view more Mala photos here.

If you were there, thanks for coming, if not, thanks for viewing. 

tower-70

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

