In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Peeps & Yoga Are All That

3 Comments

This is a dangerous time of year for me. 

Every year I say, “No, I’m not gonna do it.” 

Peeps are pretty much available for all the holidays now, not just Easter.  But for some reason they taste way better in the spring than say they do at Halloween.  At Christmas they had gingerbread, sugar cookie and who knows what other flavors of peeps available.  I caved.  I tried some. 

They all sucked. 

To me anyways. 

Even the orange pumpkins at Halloween just aren’t up to the Easter par.  I’ve even figured out that if you buy the bunnies instead of the chicks, you get two extra, but they cost the same!  What’s with that?  I guess the chicks are more popular and they used to be my  first choice until I started going for more peep for my buck.  And I do mean a buck as they cost around .96 cents a package.yogapeep1

Today at the big box retailer, they had a ginormous candy isle.  My cart automatically turned to head that way.  My excuse?  I had to get some stuff for the kids ya know.  All of the candy was in order by color.  It was really pretty.  Orange peeps, orange M&M’s, orange jelly beans and chocolate decorated with orange stuff.  Same thing went for blue, green, yellow and pink!  You could totally overdose someone in neon blue Easter candy, stuffed animals and all.  But it was nice to see so much color on such a shitty day.  It’s cold, it’s windy and it’s starting to rain.

Why do I care?  I’m home, I’m warm and I’m on the computer.  I care because in 30 minutes I have to go to a track meet, that’s why!

The book in the photo is Yoga In America by Deborah Bernstein and Bob Weisenberg.  It’s awesome.  If you’ve been living in yogaland for very long at all, you really should take the time to read it.  The book is a collection of shorts from not so famous yoga teachers around the globe.  I submitted a story, but it wasn’t chosen.  I see why now.  Tough competition.  This book is filled with great writings of inspiration, laughter, personal triumph and tears.  I love it so far and I’m more than half way finished with it.

You can purchase the book if you’re interested through LuLu. 

The peep on the other hand is mine.  And so is that hot cup of coffee not pictured. 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “Peeps & Yoga Are All That

  1. I must say that out of all the tempting candy selections out there, Peeps just don’t make my list. I think they taste like sugar-covered cardboard (not that I’ve eaten that either). I try to stay away from Easter candy, but it’s hard to resist malted-milk eggs, Reece’s Peanut Butter Eggs and really fresh jelly beans. Maybe I’ll just celebrate with a glass of wine instead. Although…dark chocolate and wine do go together quite well.

  2. Namaste! Thank you so much for sharing Yoga in America with your friends and blog readers. I’ve been out of town and mostly reading your posts on my blackberry…so somehow I missed this post on April 9. Then this morning when I was reading about your slipcovers on my “real” computer, I scrolled down and found this post! What a treat to see a photo of my book!!! I’m delighted that you are enjoying it and it totally made my day. xoxo Deb (writing from beautiful St. John in the US Virgin Islands…heading back home to Boston tomorrow)

    PS I too love peeps…but creme eggs are my fave!

    • The book is really great! I love Cadbury Creme Eggs as well. Though today, I refrained from buying any and they were 75% off! Hope your travel was safe and your stay was glorious. My sister lives on an island and I totally hear about “island time” constantly from her. Too funny.

Leave a Reply

