In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

How Does Your Garden Grow?

3 Comments

north-side-3This will be the third year we’ve planted a garden.  Not a flower garden, but a food garden.  I have a few flower gardens.  The one pictured at left is from the year before last.  My blog header, is actually one of my gardens as well.  This garden is on the north side of our house and it’s in the shade.  That called for lots of hostas, perennial begonias, ferns, lilies and impatiens.  I can do flowers, I can.  The veggie thing is somewhat new to me!  The first year we planted a food garden, the squirrels literally ate everything.  I mean all of it.  We have lots of walnut trees, so we have lots of squirrels.  They ate the tops off of the sweet potatoes, they ate the green tomatoes, they destroyed the garden.  Last year we planted peppers between each tomato plant and guess what?  We got maters, that’s what! 

So tip number one.  Plant peppers, any peppers between each tomato plant to deter any critters.  This would’ve been nice to know, especially after I spent god knows what on different repellents!  We also have several mature trees in our yard which I adore, so this makes some serious shade near our garden.  I found by trial and error that leafy greens do really well in partial shade.  Corn on the other hand, sucked.  It needs sun!!  But we harvested some micro-corn last year and it was tasty, but small.

So this afternoon I planted 10 hybrid tomato plants, 10 asparagus crowns (that’s a new one for us), a bunch of yellow, sweet onions, snap peas (yum), some arugula and a row of broccoli.  The strawberries from last year have taken up another row and that’s a good thing.  I will have a hybrid of Jewel and Whopper strawberries this year!  Tip number two.  Buy some cheap netting and cover them up because the birds will eat them before you get out of bed in the morning!

Tip number three.  A good friend told me to get a couple of tires and stack them.  Fill them with mulch and plant potatoes in them, instant potato garden.  I have not tried this yet, but we intend to.  We can put the tires in any sunny spot in the yard this way!

Tomorrow I buy the pepper plants and get them in the ground.  Hopefully.  Our weather has been pretty much hit and miss for any yard work here lately, that’s for sure!  How does your garden grow?

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. We plant veggies too, and it’s totally hit-or-miss for me. I have no idea what I’m doing! Last year we were overrun with slugs, so I’ll need to investigate how to deal with that problem this summer. Thanks for the tomato/pepper tip, I’ll try that out! Madelyn really wants spaghetti squash, so we’re going to give that a try this year. Our growing season is so short so we’re a little more limited up here.

  2. Awesome! We’re planting a veggie garden this year too. A big one. Hopefully we’ll be able to harvest some of it without much loss due to critters. We’re using companion planting, which is what the peppers are to your tomatoes. One of the best ways to plant. Use basil too, and marigolds to keep other pests off your tomatoes. Basil repels some insects & worms, while marigolds kill nematodes & some viruses in the soil.
    To Jeanne, try setting bowls of beer in depressions in your garden. The slugs want the beer, then they fall in and drown. Just dig a shallow hole, deep enough so the top edge of your bowl is level with the ground, the pour in the beer. You can also hand-pick slugs at night using a flashlight. Use gloves if you’re skiddish. Just drop em into a jar of soapy water then trash em the next day 🙂

Leave a Reply

