In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

A Hammer and Some Nails

1 Comment

I’ve lived here, in the Ozarks my entire life so I could really relate to this book my friend Mary just penned.  I met Mary’s daughter Krista first.  She’s been in my yoga class at MSU for years now.  I had the pleasure of meeting Mary (Krista’s mom) a couple of years ago, when she showed up in my YMCA yoga class.  !cid_2084an$IN948012435229467@kirsten1

Mary and Krista

Mary built a house with Krista in the 80’s down in the sticks in Galena.  When I say, she built a house with Krista, I really mean she built the house with Krista.  That’s it, the two of them.  No guys.  It took them three years.  Mary lived in a trailer on the property while they worked.  She really pegged the characters they ran across during the construction, and if you’ve lived here for very long, you’ll totally get it.

100_3906

 

Her story is inspirational, motivational and a true example of dreamers who do.  A real treat if you’re familiar with the Ozarks.  Enjoy! 

P.S. If you’re interested in yet another cool building project, I’ve been following this blog for a long time as well.  Check out the progress on this shipping container home under construction right here in the Ozarks.

 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “A Hammer and Some Nails

  1. We toured the 8747 house a few weeks ago with the guy who is the structural engineer for the project. It is very cool and the setting is idyllic. Wouldn’t be my style but is perfect for the owner, Marti. Can’t wait to see the final product.

Leave a Reply

