In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Sundance Wyoming

1 Comment

On Wednesday, June 17th to be exact, our daughter left with my parents for a cross country journey in a camper.

They left our place here in Missouri, even though they’d had some minor trouble with their big diesel truck.  They did make it to their destination in Sundance, Wyoming to my aunt’s place, so that was a good deal.  Once there though, the truck bit it.  They were stuck.  I made jokes with them about how awful it must be to be stuck there of all places, and to be retired, and not have to worry about getting home any time soon.  They even have both of their cats with them!

They’d planned on staying only a few days.  They’re still there.  And it’s Saturday, June 27th to be exact.  The truck is now fixed to the tune of $2,300 but they can get on the road again.  They’ll have to cut their trip short and skip out on Minnesota as they want to be back in Florida for the 4th of July.  Lauren is having a wonderful time.  I’ve only talked to her on the phone twice since she’s been gone!  She’s sent a couple of e-mails, if you can call them that.  They’re basically one liners.  I’m glad she’s not homesick.  She’s been traveling since she was born, so it’s nothing new to her.  I’d much rather have her be independent than whining to come home!.

devils tower She’s seen Mt. Rushmore , the Devils Tower and the Buffalo Jump, and she’s only 11.  These are places I’ve never seen.  She’s found tons of cool fossils, arrowheads and buffalo bones.  She’s been busy baking bread with my Aunt Kathy and doing who knows what other cool things.  Kathy’s crafy-cool like that, in all ways.  I miss Lauren, but I’m also staying really focused and accomplishing a lot of things that I’ve wanted to get done.  I’ve also had time to dive into a great book my mom left me to read.  It’s called The Ice Maiden.  I can’t put it down.  It’s my kind of stuff.

The day after they left I took Jordan job hunting.   We headed to the pretzel place at the Mall, and they hired him that day!  Unheard of.  Our minds were blown.  We had a huge list of places to go and apply.  He started the next day, and he really likes it.  He’s also been busy with a friend that’s a girl, so I’ve been doing some extra driving to her place, to the movies, etc.  Soon though, he can license and insure his truck, ditch the driver’s permit and get the real license.  Then he can get himself to all of the places he needs to go.

We spent a great day at Stockton Lake on Monday.  It was super hot and we were the only boat on that lake.  We usually are.  I guess every one has to go to Table Rock and be seen or whatever.  We quit going there.  Too much traffic.  It’s just not fun.  We beached the boat on a pea gravel beach and just swam and played all day.  The fish really hit the water on that lake and it always scares the crap out of me.  There I am, floating in a blissful state on my raft and out of nowhere, comes a huge splash.  Frank caught a bass that was almost 8 lbs. so that was really exciting.  I found some really nice fossils on the beach, but no arrowheads.  I also got really sunburned.  I always forget.  Reapply the sunscreen every two hours or put on a shirt!  You could’ve probably fried an egg on my back the next day.  But I still taught yoga the rest of the week, though wearing the sports bra was no fun.

Hope your summer is off to a great start.  I’m ready for it to cool down a little bit!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Sundance Wyoming

  1. We were all disappointed that your parents and Lauren had to cut their trip short!

Leave a Reply

