In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Haunting in Eureka

Leave a comment

I took off.  For three days.  I found subs and split with some friends to Eureka Springs, Arkansas. 

Eureka’s a lovely little, old town. 

100_3972

 

 

 

 

 

 

100_3977

I hadn’t been to Eureka in a long time.  Not much has changed.  The food is still good, the shops are still quaint and the ghosts are still there.  I’m totally not into victorian decor, but I do love to look at the homes anyways.  Some of the homes have been updated from pastels to hues of greens.  I failed to get a shot of my favorite home, so their little outbuilding will have to do.  This place was arts and crafts style and it was absolutely amazing.  This is just their “little studio” in the side yard.

100_3982

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yellow victorian beauty.

100_3978

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I traveled with Darlene, Carrie and their friend Eve. 

100_3963

I met Darlene and her daughter Carrie (pictured left) when they came to my family yoga class five or so years ago.  Carrie and my daughter Lauren are the exact same age and became fast friends.  Carrie is really into ghosts (so is Lauren) and the last time they were in Eureka, they experienced some weird stuff.  They also got some odd photos.  I also get into this sort of thing on occasion.  After all my birthday does fall on Halloween.

100_3965Carrie and Kirsten

 

 

 

 

 

 

We didn’t stay at a haunted hotel.  We stayed at a really, really nice Best Western with a huge pool, waterfall and outdoor movies.  We traveled with a complete bar which we enjoyed while floating in that big pool. 

100_4003

 

 

 

 

 

 

We shopped.  We stopped at all the springs.  We hiked great distances throughout the town.  We even splurged on an expensive meal at the Grand Central.  Highly recommended by the way.  They all had the pan seared scallops and risotto.  I ordered the salmon in pistachio butter.  I know.  Sounds like an odd combo, but it totally was not.

 Eve, Kirsten & Darlene on the balcony of the Basin Park Hotel.

100_4006

 

 

 

 

 

 

Carrie and Darlene took the ghost tour of the Basin while Eve and I enjoyed wine on the balcony.  We watched the moon start to rise.  Darlene and Carrie didn’t experience anything out of the ordinary on their tour. 

I shot this photo of the Basin the first day we were there.  Is that an apparition in the window?  Is it a woman with a headband, a hat or a veil?  Is it John Wayne?  Who knows.  It’s on the left of that a/c unit on the lower level of windows.  I have two photos of this.  This one is more of a profile, the other one is more head on.  Odd eh?  The moon was full what can I say?basin ghost

 On the way out we stopped at the big 75 foot Jesus statue, because you know, after all of this ghost chasing, it seemed like the thing to do.  Plus, Carrie had never seen it.

100_4011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We also stopped at the Magnetic Spring and dipped our feet into the cold water.

100_4024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think we all arrived home without any ghosts in our suitcases.

100_39731

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eureka’s a great little town.  I was a bit disappointed that the shops closed so early.  Some were closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and some were closed on Wednesdays.  Also, most of the shops open at 10:00 a.m. only to shut down for lunch at 11 or 11:30 a.m.  Hello.  I cannot give you my money if you’re not open.  We also found one of our favorite eating places closed on Wednesdays as well.  Give yourself more than one day, or you’re sure to miss quite a bit.  Lots of buildings were vacant.  I’m sure the economy could be the cause of that.  But if you’re thinking of investing in property, whether it be a home or a business, this might be a good time to do so. 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

