In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Yoga In The Morning, Boating In The Afternoon

Leave a comment

We’ve been experiencing unusually odd temps for July in our area here lately.   Bright, clear blue skies, no humidity and low 80’s during the day and low 60’s in the evenings.  I’m enjoying the windows open, and frankly, so are the cats.

Yesterday morning I led a yoga birthday party at the studio.  What a great idea for a 14 year old.  She showed with her mom and 7 girlfriends.  None of the girls had ever taken a yoga class so it was a real eye opener for them.  The birthday girl left the studio with a free eye pillow and a Tees For Change tank top.  I had so much fun doing this.  Here’s a snapshot of our fun group.  I hope I turned a few of them on to yoga.  Perhaps I’ll see them again at our studio, or at another.  The main idea here was to get them interested no matter where they choose to practice.  I think they left wanting more.

IMG_0220

 

 

 

 

 

 

As soon as I got home Frank had the boat loaded and ready to go.  This would be my second time to hit the water this week.  We went to Stockton on Thursday and were on the water approximately 20 minutes when a gigantic storm materialized out of nowhere putting us in blinding rain, wind and thunder.  Needless to say we caught 16 crappie quick-like before we pulled the boat out of the water and headed home.  All in all that wasn’t a total wasted trip as we got a nice catch.  Yesterday we didn’t catch any fish that were worth keeping, but we did enjoy the beautiful sunshine, cooler temps and blue sky.  The water was smooth and the boats were minimal.  Actually there were around 12 trucks at the boat launch this time, the most I’ve ever seen at Stockton.  But it was a Saturday.  On Mondays when we go we rarely see another boat on the water.  I don’t care if I ever go to Table Rock again.  We spent a couple of hours in a nice little cove where I floated on an air mattress and looked for fossils.  Here’s a sampling of what I found.  I like to press my clay into some of these fossils, then pull it out to see them in a different view.  I found these at the High Point area of the lake.

IMG_0223

Today the weather is lovely once again, but this will be a work around here day.  I leave for Florida on Tuesday and I’ve been working on getting our daughter’s room in order.  It’s a disaster area.  I’m pulling her door off today and taking it outside and painting a chalkboard on the front.  She’d wanted one painted on her wall, like in our kitchen, but her room is full of windows, doors and a built-in desk (which I wanted to paint white while she was away) made of knotty pine.  It’s pretty wood, but it also makes for a dark alcove in a blue room with white trim.  Our son’s entire room is knotty pine.  He loves it, very cave-like.

Update – I finished Lauren’s door!

IMG_0229

Enjoy the day.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

