In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

An Afternoon With Misha

2 Comments

This past Sunday was a beautiful one weather-wise.  I’d been going non-stop since my return from Florida, as our daughter wanted to reconnect with every, single friend that she missed during the 45 days that she was gone.  I finally got to sleep in Sunday morning, which meant I missed yoga.  Last minute, in the middle of the day, I decided to take a class from someone I’d never heard of. 

I headed out to meet Misha and take her Dharma Mittracol1_photos7 class.  Misha had taken Dharma Mittra’s training and has been teaching his yoga in Japan.    Dharma Mittra is 70, and he’s known for his yoga poster of 908 or so postures.  Most centers sport one on their wall for decor.  I’ve clipped every article I’ve ever read about the man.  I think he’s amazing.  My favorite photo of him ever is one like this.  That’s actually him pictured left.  Keep in mind, there’s another photo that I cannot locate, in the same pose except he has his arms extended along the sides of his body.  Handless headstanding, on a sewer cap, in NYC. 

Back to Misha.  This was Misha’s first class to teach in English and you would have never known.  She led us through some meditation and chanting then we broke into Dharma Mittra’s Level II Vinyasa series.  I love a flow class, I do.  But this was a bit slower, tougher and man was it long!  I think one vinyasa lasted 15 minutes or more.  We did it twice and I loved it!  I liked the sequence and I believe my body did too.  I did come home afterwards  and work in the garden for two hours, so I’m not sure where the soreness is coming from.  Probably from both activities.  We ended our class with a nice supported corpse pose, Judith Lasater style with a guided relaxation by Dharma through Misha.

This was a great class, something new to me and a good practice.  I’ve also been enjoying the yoga ropes at Dynamic Body this summer as well.  Think I’ll stick with that for awhile too.  It feels good, it’s not at a place where I teach and it’s all for me.  Sounds selfish doesn’t it?

Enjoy the day.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “An Afternoon With Misha

  1. Time that’s just for you isn’t selfish, it’s necessary! Unless it’s all-you, all-the-time (but everyone knows that’s not the case!).

Leave a Reply

