In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Chocolate & Avacadoes

2 Comments

Chocolate and avacadoes, I know.  I thought that sounded like the strangest combo ever as well.  Until this evening when I made this.IMG_0596  

 2 Avacadoes

3/4 cup Raw Cocoa Powder (I used Green & Black brand)

1/3 cup Agave Nectar

Pinch of Sea Salt

 

1Vanilla Bean (I didn’t have one, so I used the flavoring about 1 1/2 tsp.)

1/2 cup Water

The recipe also mentions adding 2 tsp. of cinnamon if you prefer, I didn’t this time.  Makes me want to go and watch the movie Chocolat again.

Put everything into a food processor, except the water.   Slowly add the water.  The more water you add, of course the thinner it will become.  I used the entire 1/2 cup above.  After tasting it, it was still too bitter for me, so I added more sweetener.  I think next time I’ll add less cocoa as the brand I used was really strong.  I suppose bigger avacadoes might be the ticket as well.  I had the smaller ones here at home.

This whipped up a smooth, light, creamy mousse.  I was tasting this and thinking how good it would be on vanilla ice cream, or mixed in with plain yogurt.  I guess you could thin it out with more water and have a nice sauce as well.  Looking forward to my yummy organic treat the rest of the week.  Just a few spoonfuls take away the chocolate craving.  And what a great alternative to those avacadoes that at times tend to ripen so quickly.

Enjoy!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate & Avacadoes

  1. A few spoonfuls? You’re kidding right?

Leave a Reply

