In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Pottery Without The Wheel

1 Comment

We headed to Stockton Lake for a day of play on Sunday. 

Copy of 100_4080

We also had to retrieve our daughter.  She was already down there camping with friends that we met years ago when I was teaching a Family Yoga class at the YMCA. 

100_4089

 

The weather was looking creepy but we headed out none the less.  It continued to look creepy when we arrived for quite some time.   We didn’t care, it was still hot. 

 

 

We went ahead with our business of grilling hot dogs, riding the inner tube and making clay. 

100_4111

Yep.  Clay.  The girls found a bunch of red clay in this one area and brought it to our hang out.  I couldn’t stand it.  I had to feel it, which led to crafting.  When the clay started to dry out we had an entire lake full of water to soften it up.  By the end of the day we’d made so much stuff we had to leave some it of there.

 

 

At one point, the girls covered their arms and legs in it.  I tried it on my arm, let it dry then jumped in the lake.  My skin came out feeling super smooth.  I was surprised by how easily it rinsed from our skin.  And just think, some people pay oodles of cash for this at a real “mud spa.” 

Copy (2) of 100_4110100_4108

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the thicker pieces were still a bit damp, but the thinner ones turned rock hard in the sunshine.  So yesterday after the cleaning cycle finished on my oven, we decided to put the clay in there.  The oven was still very hot from the cleaning cycle.  The clay came out dry and some of it turned out very smooth from being in the oven.  Who knew?  I know without these creative kids, it’s not something I would’ve picked up.  Thanks guys, for a great day!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Pottery Without The Wheel

  1. How cool is that? I’m so impressed with all you do and the neat stuff you are teaching your daughter – you’re a great role model.

Leave a Reply

