In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Fender Benders, Hamsters & Yoga

5 Comments

This has been a crazy week.  Totally crazy.  I’m talking about last week, that started on Thursday for me.   Frank has been on vacation and my dream was to finish the details in our kitchen that we remodeled two years ago.  After some serious moving of electricity (because I wanted a light switch on a different wall) that took most of the day on Thursday, we now have over head directional lighting.  It’s awesome, I love it.

 Two hours later we heard a loud thud outside.  Another transformer blown?  Someone else have an accident at the intersection?  Nope.  It was our son who had just ran his truck into the telephone pole in front of the church across the street.  Nice.  He’s been driving all of two months.  The road takes a little jaunt there and the curbing is all broken as people hit it all of the time.  We place the hubcaps that people lose when they side swipe the curb out against the street sign poles hoping they’ll see them on their way home from work.  Our son didn’t recover from the curb.  He hit the pole which sits an amazing two inches from the curb.  To make a long story short, he purchased part of a truck just like his for $300.  Together, father and son rebuilt the front end, tie rod ends and whatever else you need to steer a vehicle.  This took 4 days, and they just finished a few hours ago.  Amazing.  He can drive himself to school.

Our daughter attended a sleepover the other night.  The girl had two hamsters to unload.  Can I say no?  Nope, not good at it.  Never mind that we already have 3 cats, 1 dog, a fish tank, an alligator gecko and some hermit crabs.  What’s another thing to care for?  She’s in love with the hamster, completely.  I let her keep one.  She carried the cage around all day long outside, next door, or she kept it on the couch next to her.  Fast forward to 3:50 a.m. when our white cat,  Jackson decided to knock the cage off of her desk onto the floor in her room.  Lovely.  Hamster litter, busted up pieces of plastic cage and my child standing there wide eyed, with a death grip on a hamster.  Not exactly what one wants to view at 3:50 a.m. on a Monday.  I did not go back to sleep, I was wired and I will say I was angry.   When Lauren woke up the next morning, the fun began as we cruised pet shops for a new habitat.  I wanted her to have something easy to clean.  The easy to clean cages are not cheap, but it’s done.  Over with.  Hamster (Priscilla) has a happy home.

IMG_0621

 

 

 

I still have no kitchen floor, no front on my bar and unfinished trim in my kitchen.  Priorities I know.  We’ve been having incredible weather for August, and I spent the beautiful Sunday morning at a wonderful yoga class, at a center where I’ll be teaching a class that starts this week.  I also spent some time on our deck, with my camera capturing hummingbirds.  This one is my favorite.

IMG_0617bird

 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

5 thoughts on “Fender Benders, Hamsters & Yoga

  1. Wow! How’d you manage to catpure the little hummingbird? They love our butterfly bushes..but move around too quickly for us to get anything but a blur…

    • I used a Canon Power Shot SX10 on a macro setting, propped my elbow on a patio chair and held my breath. I have 4 other photos of an empty feeder, they are fast and the delay on the macro is longer than I’d like it to be!

  2. Great shot of the hummer! Sorry about your boy…lucky his dad is Mr. Fix-it. I’ve bit that curb and lost a hub cab on the way to work several years ago. Asleep at the wheel. Have a better week!

  3. I can tell you from experience that cats and hamsters do not mix! I think my sister went through 6 “Georges” before we finally gave up. Our cat, Smokey, was determined to snack on every one of them.

    Great shot of the hummingbird! Your photography skills are amazing!

  4. Great site…keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read…:)

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

