In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Crash

1 Comment

This past Friday night, around 9:00 p.m. we heard it again.  The awful thud that we’d hoped was a transformer blowing.  But nope.  It was yet another accident.  Exactly one week and one day ago, our son bit the curb out there.  This time it was more than that and this time it wasn’t our son. 

We heard no screeching of brakes, just a very large boom.  Someone blew through the stop sign at Jefferson and Bennett.  Actually, blew is an understatement.  I think flew is a better description.  My husband was first on the scene.  I’ve never seen him move so fast.  He parked his truck behind the vehicle that had the right of way and turned on his flashers.  I’m amazed at how many people tried to go through the intersection none the less.  Fire trucks arrived, two to be exact, the police were next and then the ambulance.  I didn’t get any closer than my house to the accident.  Some people have no problem with just cruising right on up there.  I’d thought about grabbing my new camera.  But I immediately scratched that thought.  Tragedies are not the kinds of things I want to photograph.  I’m not much of a gawker.  Even if I’m driving down the road and see some misfortune,  I don’t crain my neck further than it’s supposed to actually go to see what’s going on.  But my husband was down there and it was right by my house.  I met many new college kids in our area that night.

The car or truck I should say that ran the stop sign was totally destroyed.  I couldn’t tell what kind of vehicle it was until Frank told me.  I did get close after every one had been hauled away and the trauma part was over.  The bed of this pick up was completely wrapped around a very large utility pole that’s probably at least ten feet in diameter.   The cab of the truck had dismantled from the bed and traveled either 153 feet or 135 feet (I have a backwards memory at times) and ended up behind this great garden on Bennett.  There used to be a house there, what a disaster that would’ve been.  The people were still intact inside the cab.  They apparently were airborne as the pine trees had limbs clipped off rather high.  Can you imagine what kind of ride that must have been?   All the street lights were out and Frank had a big police flash light but still had a hard time locating the cab.  The driver of the truck had actually gotten up and out and pulled his passenger out when Frank found them.  It’s amazing they were all alive.  Even the guy who hit them (it wasn’t his fault) was OK and his car was pretty trashed.  The passenger recognized Frank from the Mall, so that was good to know she was that coherent.  She called him the next day to let him know she was treated and released with 14 staples in her leg.  These people should be spokespeople for Toyota.  Their truck was a Toyota Tundra, loaded with airbags.  That cab looked like it was covered with curtains when they hauled it off.

Look both ways, don’t speed and use your seatbelt.  Chill on the alcohol and driving as well, Frank said the smell was in the air.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Crash

  1. That party ended badly. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

