In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Taking It Easy

3 Comments

This past week has been a full one.  We had middle school open house on one night, and another evening was spent shopping for dress attire for our son.  He was headed to Homecoming which happened last night.  I’m not much of  a shopper and in fact, possess zero fashion sense, but I think we did OK.  My sister actually called while we were out shopping.  I totally needed her to be there at the time, but since she resides in Florida, that wasn’t an option.  She knows what to buy, how to wear it and where to shop.   His date was wearing black and white and they had ordered yellow flowers.  I haven’t seen her photos yet.  Frank had to work late last night, and I have a killer cold, so we didn’t get over to her place for the massive parental photo shoot. IMG_1217

 

 

 

 

 

 

The weather yesterday was amazing.  I came home from yoga to find this butterfly on the hummingbird feeder.  I grabbed my camera and got a few shots.  One of her wings was quite tattered.

IMG_1197

 A few minutes later I found out why.  My cat Jackson, jumped out of no place, grabbed the butterfly and made a snack out of her.  Ah, the circle of life.

IMG_1206

 

 

 

 

 

 

I also heard screeching birds later that same day.  In the walnut tree I spotted a Tufted Titmouse hanging upside down as she pecked away at a web.  I’m assuming she was after the insects or worms inside.  I love these little birds.  On the other hand, I don’t really enjoy the sounds that they make.  They’re smaller than a Cardinal, but larger than a Chickadee.  I like the little crest on their head and their soft, pastel coloring on their underside.  They usually travel in groups of at least two.

IMG_1210

 

 

 

 

 

 

A friend called me to sub a yoga class this morning, but unfortunately I am unable to help.   I’m also missing Yoga on Trail this nice morning, which was my original plan.  I was really looking forward to it.  Yoga in the morning, outside on the Iron Bridge at Springfield Lake.  All the money raised went to the Greenway Trails.  And they were able to secure two matching grants.  So if I showed up and gave $15, that turned into $45.  I was also looking forward to picking up the walnuts, we’ve already got a ton on the ground.  So far, I’ve had the stomach flu and now an upper respiratory infection.  After this, I’m taking a flu shot and hopefully done being sick until next winter!  This cold is kicking my butt, so it’s time to put in a movie, have some soup and hang out on the sofa.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “Taking It Easy

  1. If you want more walnuts, the people on the southwest corner of Farm Roads 199 and 140 have a ton of walnut trees and a sign that reads “free walnuts.” FR 199 is about 2.5 miles east of Sam’s on Sunshine – turn left (north) and FR 140 is about .5 mile. FR199 dead-ends at FR140 and the free walnuts are at the house on the left corner.

  2. Pingback: Posts about Butterflies as of September 26, 2009 | Sixways - Butterfly

  3. feel better soon. beautiful pix.

Leave a Reply

