In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Earlier This Week

Leave a comment

I cut a bunch of herbs from the garden and picked the chili peppers.  It was going to rain you know.  And if you live here, well, then you know.  It rained.  A lot.  Like a bunch.  So much, it flooded the lounge area of the yoga studio, again.  I spent this morning using a shop vac, sucking water out of an Indian inspired rug.  Not a big deal.  Easy job for sure.

I spent yesterday afternoon (which was gorgeous by the way) visiting my friend Mary.  I met Mary way back when, not sure exactly. I blogged about her earlier as she had published a great book called A Hammer and Some Nails.  She attends my class at the Y and most usually never misses.  I met her daughter first over at Missouri State at my yoga class over there. 

Every year they take a trip together and ride the Katy Trail.  This time Mary crashed.  And burned.  She ended up in the hospital in Columbia, Missouri with a fractured L1 vertabrae.  I stopped by her house yesterday to find her watching a video and resting on her day bed that was flooded with sunlight from the South windows.  She had a huge, red umbrella opened up against the muslin curtains to block the sun.  Geisha girl was my immediate thought, though I didn’t say it.  I brought her some Chili Peppers, some Sage, some Mint and some Italian and Thai Basil from our garden. 

She has to wear a back brace for 6 weeks.  I would go nuts and I think she might as well, being the active senior that she is.  She attends my yoga class on Mondays and Wednesdays at the Ward YMCA and it’s weird not having her in class right now.  She doesn’t live that far from me so I plan on taking her some quirky movies soon, because you know, I’ve got a few that I know she would appreciate.

I hope when I’m 80, I’m still heading to yoga class and living in a cool little house, driving an old volvo and living my life to the fullest.  Here’s a photo of Mary on her front porch seven days after her bike accident.  You rock girlfriend.  Heal up soon, we miss the hell out of you!

mary on porch 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

